Woman Learns Life is Lie Until It’s Revealed She is the Chosen One

Share Article

Little did Bree expect she was the only Mortal in a family of Magicals. Nor could she guess that this oddity would make her “The Chosen One,” destined to save Mortals and Magicals, with an evil sorceress determined to stop her at any cost.

Bree’s life has not been easy. At age thirty-two, and following a painful marriage, she discovers her family members are Magicals while she is only a Mortal. But this distinction also makes her the Chosen One with a destiny to fulfill. Discover the secrets and adventures Bree must face in M.L. Lacy’s new novel “Chrysalis—The Awakening” (ISBN 9781438959856, AuthorHouse, 2009).

Bree is the only Mortal born into a coven of witches, “Magicals,” that has kept the secret from her until she is thirty-two. After a painful and abusive marriage, Bree has her memories erased, and she must reconnect with her true identity. When she discovers she is “The Chosen One,” destined to save both the world of Mortals and the world of Magicals, she comes to terms with strange events she experienced as a child that made her previously think she might be crazy. Now she knows it was all part of what was leading her to her destiny.

But achieving her destiny will not be easy for Bree. An evil sorceress, Esmeralda, wants Bree dead so she can completely rid the world of Mortals. To protect her, a clan of vampires adopts Bree into its community. Then Bree is reunited with Steve, her forgotten love, and through a series of dreams, memories start to come back to her, allowing her to regain her identity and personal power.

Beyond just an adventure story, “The Awakening” is about determining what truly matters. Bree learns to appreciate her own humanity, embracing it as not less than immortality, but as a key part of her nature with its own significant values. At the center of this dilemma is Bree’s need to understand what it means to love someone for all eternity. Steve is her soulmate, but she questions whether she can reconcile her human values with his immortal ones.

“The Awakening” is the first of the “Chrysalis” series of novels that magically and magnificently blends together the world of humans, vampires, witches, and werewolves. Lacy’s imaginative creation of this world and its introspection into the characters through dream sequences creates a suspenseful, fast-paced novel that is already receiving rave reviews. Rebecca’s Reads declares, “The story is just magnificent. I may even read it all over again!” and Reader Views says, “a powerful fantasy novel….Incorporating a variety of magical elements into her story makes it a very enjoyable escape.” Readers are already anxious for the second book, “The Tribulations” due out in time for early 2010.

About the Author
Madonna Lacy’s intense love for the Rocky Mountains and the American West are often reflected in her storylines for her “Chrysalis” series. M.L. Lacy lives in far north Forth Worth, Texas, with her husband. She is the mother of two sons (both military officers in the U.S. Air Force), and the grandmother of three girls. A vivid imagination allows her to create the people and places of her fictional worlds, which push established storytelling boundaries. “The Awakening” is the first in her “Chrysalis” series.

“Chrysalis—The Awakening” (ISBN 9781438959856, AuthorHouse, 2009) can be purchased through local and online bookstores. For more information, visit http://www.filedby.com/author/m_l_lacy/3473516 Publicity contact: http://www.ReaderViews.com. Review copies available upon request.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website