Winners of 2009 Defense Logistics Awards Program Announced

Share Article

The winners of the 6th Annual Defense Logistics Awards were announced at 8pm last night during a dinner attended by over 150 guests at the Marriott Crystal Gateway in Arlington, Virginia.

The winners of the 6th Annual Defense Logistics Awards were announced at 8pm last night during a dinner attended by over 150 guests at the Marriott Crystal Gateway in Arlington, Virginia.

The event was hosted by IBM, Cisco Systems and Rockwell Collins. The winners were selected by a judging panel from a group of finalists in each of the five categories.

“It’s great to see the great collaboration between different DoD services as well as contractors. It shows we are all committed to supporting the warfighter through a synchronized, joint-force supply chain,” said Jarrett Spagnoli, Executive Director, Defense Logistics. “We had the greatest interest in this year’s awards program since its launch in 2004, and that’s a testament to how far we’ve come in furthering the cause of the joint force.”

“It is a great honor to be a part of recognizing these logisticians and programs for their tremendous efforts. This year’s field of submissions was extremely competitive. I feel privileged to be involved,” said Amol Tembe, Director, Defense Logistics.

The finalists and winners are indicated here (winners in bold):

Best Logistics Strategy: A Specific Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, Coast Guard Or Defense Agency Project

  • USTRANSCOM/USCENTCOM-NDN Northern Distribution Network Team
  •     PMS-408 Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) Logistics Team
  •     Naval Logistics Integration (NLI) & Navy-Coast Guard Logistics Integration (N-CGLI)-WINNER
  •     GSA/USMC 4PL Partnership
  •     DLA QSLD Implementation Team

PBL Implementation Of The Year

  •     The Boeing Company, C-17 Globemaster III Sustainment Partnership Program
  •     PMW 120 Battlespace Awareness MEMF(R) Operations Support
  •     Michelin Aircraft Tire Company, Inc. / Aircraft Tire Privatization Initiative (ATPI)-WINNER
  •     F-35 Lightning II JSF Program
  •     Defense Distribution Center Kuwait, Southwest Asia (DDKS)

Beyond The Call Of Duty: Logistician Of The Year

  •     Lieutenant Colonel Danny P. Johnson, Logistics Readiness Officer, 75th Mission Support Group
  •     Ms. Anita Luich, Chief, Integrated Supplier Team, Flexible Hose and Tubing (FMDC), Defense Supply Center Columbus-WINNER
  •     Ms. Deborah Elliot, Tech Data Program Manager, USCG
  •     Mr. Leon McInelly, Logistics Management Supervisor, Missile Defense Agency (MDA), Ground-Based Midcourse Defense Program (GMD), Operations Support Group-Alaska (OSG-AK)

Technology Implementation Of The Year

  •     JTRS - Joint Tactical Radio System, Network Enterprise Domain
  •     PdM SCIE and Fort Bragg’s 82nd Sustainment Brigade, 11th Quartermaster Company RFID Parachute Tracking System (PTS)
  •     USTRANSCOM - Strategy, Policy, Programs, and Logistics Directorate, Asset Visibility Division-WINNER
  •     Defense Supply Center Philadelphia – AFRICOM/CENTCOM/EUCOM (DSCP-ACE)

Military-Military Collaboration Of The Year: Rewarding The Joint Effort

  •     Ground-Based Midcourse Defense (GMD) / Missile Defense Agency (MDA)
  •     PACAF Transportation Training Center – US Army/Navy/Marines, Okinawa
  •     Naval Logistics Integration Team For Expeditionary And In Garrison Repairables Distribution
  •     Defense Energy Support Center - Kuwait (DESC-KU)-WINNER
  •     DESC/USAF/USN Alternative Fuels Team

The Judging Panel:

  •     Major General (Retired) John Phillips, former Deputy Under Secretary for Defense (Logistics)
  •     Terry J. Pudas, (Former) Acting Director, Force Transformation, OSD & Senior Research Fellow, Center for Technology and National Security Policy, National Defense University
  •     Robert E. Mansfield, Jr., Brig Gen, USAF (Retired), Director, National Center for Aerospace Leadership, and Principle Investigator, National Aerospace Leadership Initiative, Connecticut Center For Advanced Technology
  •     Dr. Wesley S. Randall, Assistant Professor of Supply Chain Management, Department of Aviation and Supply Chain Management College of Business, Auburn University
  •     William Horne, President, Council of Logistics Engineering Professionals (CLEP)

The Defense Logistics awards ceremony has been established to honor, recognize and promote the logisticians in the US Department of Defense and the Defense Industry that have made a significant contribution to military logistics. These logisticians support interoperability and transformation through logistics initiatives/programs/processes.
For further information on this year’s awards program or information on submitting an award for future programs, contact:

Amol Tembe
Defense Logistics

Defense Logistics is produced by Worldwide Business Research. Since its launch in 2001, Defense Logistics mission has remained the same: Full commitment to the warfighter through the advancement of a synchronized, joint-force supply chain. It remains the key logistics program to attend each year.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website