FieldTurf and Howie Long Announce 2009 FieldTurf Football Awards

Share Article

Award-winners announced during the 2010 American Football Coaches Convention in Orlando

FieldTurf and Howie Long announced the winners of the 3rd annual FieldTurf Football Awards for the 2009 season today during the American Football Coaches Convention in Orlando. Award winners were named in 11 different categories, with FieldTurf announcing 2 of the award categories on its own. These awards, with the exception of the NFL Coach of the Year award and the NFL Team of the Year award, are based on tabulated votes from Howie Long and FieldTurf executives, which includes a group of former NFL stars.

This year’s winners are:

NFL Coach of the Year – Jim Caldwell, Indianapolis Colts (IN)
NFL Team of the Year – Indianapolis Colts (TN)
NCAA Division 1-A Coach of the Year – Brian Kelly, Cincinnati Bearcats (OH)
NCAA Division 1-A Team of the Year – Cincinnati Bearcats (OH)
NCAA Division 1-AA Coach of the Year – Bobby Hauck, University of Montana (MT)
NCAA Division 2 Coach of the Year - Mel Tjeerdsma, NW Missouri State University (MO)
NCAA Division 3 Coach of the Year - Lance Leipold, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater (WI)
CFL Team of the Year - Montreal Alouettes (QC)
NAIA Team of the Year - University of Sioux Falls (ND)
Junior College Team of the Year – Blinn College (TX)
National High School Team of the Year – Don Bosco Preparatory High School (NJ)

The NFL Coach of the Year award and the NFL Team of the Year award were announced solely by FieldTurf.

JIM CALDWELL, Indianapolis Colts (NFL Coach of the Year) – After Tony Dungy stepped down last season, the torch was passed and the team, under new head coach Jim Caldwell, did not miss a beat. Caldwell led his team to the best record in the NFL and another AFC crown. Jim is well-deserving of this year’s NFL Coach of the Year award

INDIANAPOLIS COLTS (NFL Team of the Year) – Gaining the top seed in the AFC is no easy task for any team. The Colts posted a 14-2 record this year and flirted with an undefeated season. Their ability to make big plays when it counts is second to none in football. Without a doubt, the Colts are this year’s NFL Team of the Year.

BRIAN KELLY, Cincinnati Bearcats (NCAA Division 1-A Coach of the Year) – Although Kelly has recently moved on to accept the head coaching position at Notre Dame, his success with the Bearcats in 2009 earned him this year’s award. After beginning the season unranked in all polls, Kelly's Bearcats reeled off 12 straight victories and finished the regular season undefeated. Going into the bowl season, they were ranked #3 in the BCS Standings and faced the Florida Gators in the Sugar Bowl.

CINCINNATI BEARCATS (NCAA Division 1-A Team of the Year) – Going undefeated in the Big East is quite an accomplishment for the Bearcats who were not given any consideration to be a top team before the season started. Posting some impressive victories, the Bearcats are an easy choice for this year’s NCAA Division 1-A Team of the Year.

BOBBY HAUCK, University of Montana (NCAA Division 1-AA Coach of the Year) - Bobby Hauck is the winningest coach in Big Sky Conference history in terms of victories per season and conference championships (six). He has recently accepted the head coaching position at UNLV but his 2009 accomplishments with the Grizzlies made him a lock for this year’s award. Hauck led the Grizzlies to a 14-1 overall record, with an undefeated 8-0 mark in their conference followed by another conference title.

MEL TJEERDSMA, NW Missouri State University (NCAA Division 2 Coach of the Year) – A winner of the 2007 FieldTurf football award, Mel Tjeerdsma did it again in 2009. After finishing second for four years in a row, Mel’s team took home the championship in 2009 with a dominant 14-1 record. A pillar of coaching success, Mel was the obvious choice for this year’s NCAA Division 2 Coach of the Year award.

LANCE LEIPOLD, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater (NCAA Division 3 Coach of the Year) – After leading his Warhawks to a NCAA Division III National Championship, Lance demonstrated his coaching abilities by ensuring his troops played every game as if it were their last. A model of coaching success in Division III football, Lance Leipold is the consensus winner for this year’s NCAA Division 3 Coach of the Year.

MONTREAL ALOUETTES (CFL Team of the Year) – With a 15-3 record in the regular season, the Als dominated the league often winning games by significant margins. When the post-season rolled around, Marc Trestman’s squad was able to make the key plays when it counted and kept their composure through a Grey Cup victory in one of the most exciting CFL championship games in league history. The Montreal Alouettes are the clear choice for this year’s winner of the CFL Team of the Year.

UNIVERSITY OF SIOUX FALLS COUGARS (NAIA Team of the Year) – The Cougars won the 2009 NAIA national championship with a perfect record for the team’s first 15-win season. Kalen DeBoer and his staff did an incredible job with a team that posted some convincing wins and was the obvious choice for this year’s NAIA Team of the Year.

BLINN COLLEGE BUCCANEERS (Junior College Team of the Year) – The Blinn Bucs won their fourth national championship in 2009 after posting a 10-1 record in the NJCAA and leaving little doubt that they are the deserving winners of this year’s Junior College Team of the Year

DON BOSCO PREPARATORY HIGH SCHOOL (National High School Team of the Year) – The Don Bosco Ironmen won it all this year under the guidance of famed high school coach Greg Toal. Don Bosco finished at 12-0 and won most of their games by very significant margins. The Ironmen were crowned national champions in 2009 and continue their dominance of high school football.

About FieldTurf
FieldTurf offers industry-leading engineering and manufacturing resources and leads the synthetic turf industry with regard to setting higher environmental standards. FieldTurf is the global market leader in terms of synthetic sports fields with more than 3,500 fields installed. Additionally, FieldTurf has attained more than 15,000 satisfied customers in high quality pet, residential, commercial and municipal landscaping solutions, playground surfacing and has a complete range of golf and tennis products. FieldTurf synthetic turf customers enjoy the benefits of significantly reduced water consumption, the elimination of fertilizer and pesticides, superior durability and drainage and a product that looks and feels real. The positive environmental impact of FieldTurf provides the added benefit of LEED building contributions.

FieldTurf is part of Tarkett Sports, a Division of the Tarkett Group. Tarkett Sports is the largest entity in the sports and landscape surfacing industries. Included within the Tarkett Sports portfolio is an impressive range of performance sports flooring products. This product range includes: synthetic and hardwood basketball; volleyball and gymnasium flooring; squash and racquetball courts; floor protection and covering systems; weight room flooring; and high performance indoor and outdoor running tracks, featuring Beynon and Atlas track surfaces. All Tarkett Sports surfaces are developed, produced and installed with a concentration on sustainability and a commitment to protecting the environment, providing additional LEED contribution opportunities for customers. The company calls this focus on sustainability and the environment ‘Environmental Intelligence’ and all company personnel strive to exemplify this philosophy in all aspects of the business.

For more information, please visit: FieldTurf Artificial Grass & Synthetic Turf Products

Jason Smollett

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Jason Smollett
Visit website