2009 ECNY Awards Nominees Announced

Share Article

Awards to Celebrate the Comedic Performing Arts in New York City

The ECNY Awards, New York's original comedy awards, are honored to announce the nominees for the 2009 awards, representing the absolute best in New York comedy. Voting will be open to the general public at ECNYawards.com. The winners will be announced at the 2009 ECNY Awards ceremony, held March 8, 2010, at 8:00pm; at Comix NY; 353 West 14th St. The ceremony will be hosted for the third year in a row by Jon Friedman.

"Once again, I’m extremely proud to announce of the diverse and talented list of comedians nominated for our awards," said ECNY producer Alex Goldberg. "Although, to be honest, if it was possible, we would have preferred to give each award directly to Avatar.”

Nominees were selected after a public nomination process, and voting by a committee composed of industry professionals. A complete list of nominees is available online at http://www.ECNYAwards.com, or for your convenience, listed below.

Groups or individuals were eligible for nomination in fifteen different categories: Best Female Standup Comedian; Best Male Standup Comedian; the Emerging Comic Award; Best Host; Best Improv Group; Best Musical Comedy Act (Solo or Group); Best One Person Show; Best Short Comedic Film; Outstanding Achievement in Flyer of Postcard Design; Best Sketch Comedy Group; Best Technician; Best Variety Show; Best Website; and new this year, the awards for Best Comedic Book, and Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Tweeting.

In addition, The ECNYs will be giving out a Lifetime Achievement Award to one comedian/group/institution who has done the most over the course of his/her/their/its lifetime for the perpetuation and growth of New York comedy. This category was not open for nomination. Previous winners include Eddie Brill (The Late Show With David Letterman); and the Writing Staff of Late Night With Conan O’Brien.

The Awards, a mainstay of the New York comedy scene, returned in 2007 with a completely revamped production team, after an almost two year hiatus. After sold out ceremonies the last two years, The ECNYs continue to celebrate the comedic performing arts in New York City by honoring the best, funniest, and most creative performers, shows, and producers working in the field.

Nominees all met the following criteria:

  •     Nominees must have performed, or done the majority of their work in New York from October, 2008, to October, 2009.
  •     Nominees must have resided in the New York area for the majority of that time period.

Some previous recipients of an ECNY Award include:

  • Derrick (Best Sketch Comedy Group, 2008; “Mystery Team”)
  • Kumail Nanjiani (Best Male Stand-Up Comedian, Best One Person Show, 2008; Comedy Central’s “Michael & Michael Have Issues”)
  • Lennon Parham (The Emerging Comic Award, 2008; ABC’s “Accidentally on Purpose”)
  • Nick Kroll (Best One Person Show, 2007; FOX’s “Sit Down Shut Up")
  • The Onion News Network (Best Web Site, 2007)
  • John Mulaney (Best Male Stand-Up Comedian, 2007; "Saturday Night Live")
  • Kristen Schaal (Best Female Stand-Up Comedian, 2007; "Flight of the Conchords")
  • Eugene Mirman & Michael Showalter (Best Host, 2007; "Stella")
  • Aziz Ansari (Best Male Stand-up, 2005; NBC’s “Parks and Recreation")
  • Sara Schaefer (Best Host, 2004; NBC’s “Late Night With Jimmy Fallon”)
  • Mike Birbiglia (Best Male Stand-up, 2003; Broadway’s “Sleepwalk With Me”)


Best Female Stand-Up:
Claudia Cogan
Katina Corrao
Morgan Murphy
Giulia Rozzi
Brooke Van Poppelen

Best Male Stand-Up:
Hannibal Buress
Pete Holmes
Sean Patton
Rory Scovel
Baron Vaughn

Best Sketch Comedy Group:
BoF (Best of Friends)
Elephant Larry
New Exc!tement
Team Submarine

Best Improv Group
Big Black Car
Death By Roo Roo
I Eat Pandas
Improvised Shakespeare Company

Best Host:
Chris Gethard
Seth Herzog
Pete Holmes and Jessi Klein
Gabe Liedman, Jenny Slate and Max Silvestri
Joe Mande and Noah Garfinkel

Best Musical Comedy Act (Solo or Group):
Adira Amram
Shayna Ferm
Leibya Rogers (Mindy Raf)
Stuckey & Murray

Best One Person Show:
Big in Japan – Dave Hill
Dead Millionaire – Jenny Slate
Fag Life: A Conversation with Fred Phelps – Brent Sullivan
Supernormal – Tom Shillue
Use It – Ann Carr

Best Short Comedic Film:
DAMN (You Wish) – Carolyn Castiglia, Tom McCaffrey, Mara Herron, and Anya Garrett
Eagles are Turning People into Horses - BriTANick
Everyone Poops Trailer - Landline TV
Hey That's Awesome!: 2012 - Rob Lathan w/ Bobby Moynihan
What Do You Want on Your Tombstone? – Elephant Larry

Best Technician:
Jon Gutierrez
Geoff Grimwood
Carol Hartsell
Frank Hejl
Rich Jones

Best Variety Show:
Fifty First Jokes
Moonwork: An Evening of Original Works
Rejection Show
Risk! True Tales Boldly Told

Outstanding Achievement in Flyer or Postcard Design:
Agorafabulous: Mike Wang and Lauren Goldberg
Brown Ambition: Anya Garrett
Fag Life: A Conversation with Fred Phelps: Mindy Tucker
Heart of Darkness - Dimitri Drjuchin
Swords Improv: Bradford Jordan and Eric Michael Pearson

Best Website:

Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Tweeting:

Best Book:
All Local Bands Suck (Except Ours) – Porter Mason
And Here’s the Kicker: Conversations with 21 Top Humor Writers on their Craft - Mike Sacks
Get Rich Cheating - Jeff Kreisler
Rejected: Tales of the Failed, Dumped and Canceled – Jon Friedman
The Terrible, Horrible Temp-to-Perm Debacle – Bob Powers
The Will to Whatevs: A Guide to Modern Life – Eugene Mirman

Emerging Comic Award:
Myq Kaplan
Mike Lawrence
Kate McKinnon
Thomas Middleditch
Dan St. Germain
Brent Sullivan

The ECNY Awards are produced by Alex Goldberg (Fearsome), Jon Friedman (The Rejection Show), Carol Hartsell (Drink at Work), Nate Sloan (The Apiary), and Alexander Zalben (SketchFest NYC).

For more information, or if you would like to sponsor this year’s Awards, please visit the website at http://www.ECNYAwards.com.

WHAT: The ECNY Awards

WHEN: March 8, 2010 @ 8:00pm

WHERE: Comix NY; 353 W. 14th St.; Just East of 9th Ave.



Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Alex Zalban
Visit website