International Award-Winning Writer John Joseph Kennedy Pens 4-Part Monstrance Mystery Series About The Dark Side of Humanity and the Catholic Church

Share Article

Inspired by a series of unsolved true crimes and real events, including the 1994 art-theft of a million dollar monstrance of the Virgin Mary from the Mabee-Gerrer Museum at St. Gregory’s Catholic University in Shawnee, Oklahoma, and the Vatican Sex Scandal, but written wholly as fiction, John Kennedy’s Monstrance I: Objet D’Art is available for purchase on Amazon.com and other outlets.

John Joseph Kennedy, Author

"OUT OF DARKNESS, COMETH LIGHT!"

Ironically released as the new Vatican sex scandal explodes around the globe, author John Kennedy releases Monstrance I: Objet D’Art amidst a maelstrom of lies, controversy and threats.

When a rare religious relic is stolen from a small Catholic college, a well-known former student digs into the mystery surrounding the artifact and launches himself into a modern-day crusade for truth.

Plot description: Made of pure platinum and encrusted with more than 900 jewels, the Jackson-Bonét Monstrance is a spectacular religious relic, designed in the image of the Virgin Mary to exhibit the Holy Eucharist for the adoration of the faithful. Its monetary value is estimated at $3 million; however, its spiritual value is immeasurable.

So when it is stolen from the vault of a small Catholic monastery and college, local, state, and federal law enforcement converge on the peaceful Oklahoma campus. In the Roman Catholic Church a monstrance is a vessel in which the consecrated Host is exposed for the adoration of the faithful. One of the most rare and spectacular of these artifacts is the jewel-encrusted Jackson-Bonét Monstrance, protected by a community of Benedictine monks at a small Catholic college in Oklahoma.

Kennedy began his journey in late 1994 when he stumbled across the theft of the priceless monstrance of the Virgin Mary while on a spiritual retreat at St. Gregory’s Catholic University in Shawnee, Oklahoma, his alma mater. He began the research, writing and development of this book and worked on it for several years. He completed the first-half of the series and then set it aside for over a decade.

“I had my reasons,” Kennedy says. “First of all, someone did not want this book to be written or published. My typist’s home-office was broken into and her computer wiped clean of this manuscript. We had to start all over again. A few days before the break-in her neighbor saw a man in a yellow pick-up truck casing her home and taking pictures of it. I, too, was stalked and later learned my life was in danger.”

What started as an exciting adventure for Kennedy soon turned dark and dangerous.

“I was uncovering a Pandora’s Box of lies, deception and unsolved crimes-past and present, spiritual and political corruption, a bizarre underworld of shady characters, career criminals and a coven of witches-practitioners of voodoo and black magic. An anonymous smear campaign began behind my back to discredit me. Some of the people assisting me with this project were called by an anonymous ‘mystery man’ out of Oklahoma City and warned not to assist me with this book. A pattern that would repeat itself, time and again,” Kennedy says.

And then it got worse. Much worse. Kennedy claims. “As the book went into publication after all these years the lies, threats, controversy and smear campaign began again in earnest against me, but this time it did not stop me. My emails, computers, and phones were also hacked into. I reported this to local, state and federal law enforcement agencies. When they find out who is behind all of this, they will find the thief who stole the Monstrance. Anyone that would steal a beautiful and sacred statue of the Virgin Mary has to be pure evil. I hope and pray all these crimes will finally be brought to justice. It’s long overdue. Speak the Truth and shame the devil!” Kennedy says.

Detective John Moody of the Shawnee, Oklahoma Police Department, the original lead detective on the case at the time of the theft, has since retired and is working with the Oklahoma Medical Examiner’s Office, said Teresa Brown of the Shawnee Police Department. “The 1994 theft of the monstrance has not been solved and remains an open case,” Brown said. “If you have any information about this case please contact Detective Greg Gibson at 405-273-0989.”

Fans of The Thomas Crown Affair, The Name of the Rose, The Da Vinci Code, and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will be riveted by Monstrance, the first installment in the four-book Monstrance Mystery Series. Published by Philosopher’s Stone Publishing, and printed in Charleston, South Carolina, Monstrance is a compelling story of faith, courage, and destiny vs. the seven deadly sins of pride, envy, anger, avarice, sadness, gluttony and lust, with a mind-blowing conclusion that will resonate long after the final page has been turned.

John Joseph Kennedy began his love affair with writing during college, when his very first short story “Chad Jarman is 40 Today!” earned him an invitation to Harvard University’s prestigious summer writing program. He attended St. Gregory’s Catholic College where he served as President of Young Democrats and Student Representative, and later transferred to Oklahoma University. He worked as a journalist for The Daily Law Journal/Journal Record. Since then, his work has been published in numerous publications, including Beverly Hills People, the United Nations Environmental Newsletter, and Florida Guest Magazine. He also worked as a model in more than fifty print and fashion campaigns, and is a popular and highly acclaimed public speaker. John’s family is originally from Charleston, South Carolina, however, he grew up in Oklahoma City. He is a lifelong Catholic who can trace his family’s religious heritage back nearly one thousand years. In addition to his Monstrance Mystery Series, he is busy writing a true crime novel and screenplay, Murder At The Shangri ‘La, based on the heroic life and tragic death of his sister, Cecilia Madeline Kennedy. See NewsOK.com link below to the March 14, 2010 front page story of the Sunday Oklahoman about this case.

Available in hardcover and paperback, Monstrance I: Objet D’Art, the first installment in the series is available on Amazon.com and other outlets. The series includes Monstrance II: Jake Maris III, Monstrance III: Love/Hate, Monstrance IV: Omen.

CONTACT INFORMATION: Please direct all media inquiries to Mr. Andrew Hingley, Social Media Director at 407-386-3168.

Order book today on Amazon.com:
Monstrance I: Objet D'Art (Volume 1) by John Joseph Kennedy
http://amzn.com/1439268924

Official Website:
http://www.JohnJosephKennedyBooks.com

"Real As It Gets" Podcast Interview with John Joseph Kennedy by host Elijah Cosmic Saint-April 9, 2010:
http://www.mevio.com/episode/226895/real-as-it-gets-82-john-joseph

"Death in Thai Hotel Haunts Oklahoma City Women's Kin"
Sunday Oklahoman front page story on Cecilia Kennedy-March 14, 2010:
http://www.newsok.com/article/3446362?searched=cecilia%20madeline%20kennedy&custom_click=search

NewsOK video on Cecilia Kennedy. Cecilia's last recorded message:
http://www.newsok.com/multimedia/video/71475557001

###

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Mr. Andrew Hingley
Visit website