Caravan Club Celebrates Fifty Years of Certificated Locations at Westminster Awards Ceremony

Share Article

The Caravan Club marked fifty years of the existence of its Certificated Location (or CL) sites network, during its CL of the Year 2009 Awards ceremony today at the House of Commons. Owners of the top three CLs were presented with their awards today by the Rt Hon John Denham MP, Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government.

Fifty years of these wonderful CL sites is real cause for celebration, and our winners here today are testament to the enjoyment and friendship that these locations offer our members.

Certificated Locations are small, 5 pitch, privately-owned informal caravan sites, numbering around 2,500, which are found right across the UK, often in picturesque rural settings, on working farms, beside pub gardens, and even in the grounds of stately homes. CLs are for the exclusive use of Caravan Club members, almost a third of whom cite access to the CL network as their main reason for joining.

The Caravan Club CL of the Year Awards are presented at the House of Commons in recognition of the Caravan Sites and Control of Development Act (1960) which enables The Caravan Club to grant certificates to landowners to operate CLs.

The roll call for the CL of the Year Awards, as voted for by Caravan Club members during 2009, is as follows : -

1st Keith and Jean Rogers, Keal Lodge CL, Deeping St James, Lincs
2nd David and Jean Clarkson, Laithes Lodge CL, Blackpool
3rd Roy and Hilda Griggs, Stoneyways CL, Woodbridge, Suffolk

The winning site, Keal Lodge CL, is only a five-minute walk from the pretty historic Lincolnshire village of Deeping St James, with its pubs and restaurants, good local shops and riverside walks along the River Welland.

CL owners Keith and Alison Rogers have run the site for fourteen years, and enjoy sharing their love of this often overlooked corner of England with their many visitors. “I’ve lived in the area all my life,” explained Alison. “So I am more than happy to help our guests make the most of their stay – whether it’s wildlife watching, admiring historic buildings, or joining in one of my craft weekends!”

The runner up in the national awards, Laithes Lodge CL, Blackpool, is easily accessible and the perfect base for exploring nearby coastal resorts as well as for day trips to the Lake
District. Owners David and Jean Clarkson provide a warm Lancashire welcome to visitors, many of whom have become family friends over the fifteen years that they have been running the site. “We make every effort to respond to visitors’ needs so they have a great holiday. We have now provided all fully serviced, hard standing pitches, which are especially appreciated by many of our more senior holidaymakers,” explained Jean.

Owners of third place, Stoneyways CL in Woodbridge, Suffolk, Roy and Hilda Griggs, are no strangers to Westminster, having been present to receive national CL awards here on no less than 10 occasions! In a fantastic rural location surrounded by farmland, Stoneyways covers around two acres and includes a pond complete with tame ducks and a garden area with a variety of flowers and shrubs to attract wildlife.

Speaking at the awards ceremony, Caravan Club Chairman, Grenville Chamberlain, commented: “Fifty years of these wonderful CL sites is real cause for celebration, and our winners here today are testament to the enjoyment and friendship that these locations offer our members. Not only that, but the Caravan Club CL network is an example of sustainable tourism at its most effective, bringing the spend of our one million members to local communities across the UK and boosting domestic tourism in the process.”

The full list of regional and category winners is attached below.

For further information please contact The Caravan Club Press Office on
01342 336664 or 01342 336768, or email

Note to Editors
The Caravan Club is Europe’s premier touring organisation representing the interests of one million caravanners, motor caravanners and trailer tent owners. For more information visit The Club’s award-winning website at or


1st    Mr & Mrs K Rogers, Keal Lodge, Back Lane, Deeping St James, Peterborough, PE6 8RT

2nd    Mr & Mrs D Clarkson, Laithes Lodge, Whitehill Road, Blackpool, FY4 5LA

3rd     Mr & Mrs R V Griggs, Stoneyways, Ufford Road, Bredfield, Woodbridge, IP13 6AR


South West
Mr & Mrs C Burrell, The Beeches, Tredinnick Farm, Nr Mitchell, Newquay,

Cotswolds & South East
Mr & Mrs D Redman, Ebdon Bow, Wick St Lawrence, Weston-super-Mare, BS22 9NZ

Mr & Mrs J Haworth, Manor House, Kitty Lane, Marton Moss, Blackpool

Wales & West Midlands
Mr & Mrs B Lewis, The Coppins, Pentle Poir, Saundersfoot, SA69 9BN

Middle England & East Anglia
Mr & Mrs J Gotts, Gotrans, Grub Street, Happisburgh, Norfolk, NR12 0RX

Mr O Taylor, Low Moor Head Farm, Longtown, CA6 5RG


Best Public House CL
Mr M Woods, Ye Horn’s Inn, Horn’s Lane, Goosnargh, Preston, PR3 2FJ

Best Farm CL
Mrs J Broadley, Brundcliffe Farm, Hartington, Buxton, SK17 0BA

Best CL for Fishing
Mrs G H Symonds, Southerly, Chapel Road, Roughton, Norwich, NR11 8AF

Most Picturesque CL
Mr J Lamb, 7 Holding, Leadketty, Dunning, Perth, PH2 0QN


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Fiona Bewers
Visit website