Masonic Information Center (MIC) Spotlights High-achieving Masonic Lodges with 2009 Winners of the Mark Twain Award For Masonic Awareness

Share Article

Eighteen Masonic Lodges across North America claim national recognition for demonstrating excellence in 2009 activities. MIC recognizes Lodges' superior efforts both to invigorate Freemasonry's identity throughout their communities and to enrich the quality of educational and fraternal experiences within Lodges.

"The Masonic fraternity is experiencing renewed public interest and increased exposure in popular media; the Twain Award helps us to communicate the true identity of Freemasonry with its roots in education and enlightenment,” says Fletcher.

Past News Releases


The Masonic Information Center (MIC) announces 2009 winners of the Mark Twain Award for Excellence in Masonic Awareness. Completing its fourth year, the Twain Award Competition continues to draw increasing numbers of submissions while maintaining its high standards of evaluation. Winners must distinguish themselves by exhibiting energy focused on three stages of work: planning, executing, and reflecting on activities directly related to enhancing Lodges' Masonic identity. Historically, the Masonic fraternity emphasizes the importance of education, self-improvement, good works, and fellowship.

Richard E. Fletcher, Executive Secretary of the Masonic Information Center says, "The 2009 Twain Award competition attracted Lodge submissions from 35 states." Fletcher continues, "As the Twain Award's reputation grows, Lodges see its benefit as an incentive to create new ideas and generate more energy among members." The Twain Award does not set Lodges against other Lodges, rather, the competition asks Lodges to demonstrate that they have done their best to produce excellence in and understanding of their Masonic identity. Winners receive a custom designed award and nationwide recognition through MSANA web and print publications. Fletcher says, "Grand Lodge meetings frequently provide opportunities to make public presentations to members, who participated in achieving Twain Award winner status."

"The Masonic fraternity is experiencing renewed public interest and increased exposure in popular movies, books, and media; the Twain Award helps us to communicate and to clarify the true identity of the Fraternity of Freemasonry with its roots in education and enlightenment," says Fletcher. He continues, "Our Fraternity's Twain Award generates enthusiasm and builds relevance for Freemasonry in the 21st Century by providing ways for men from diverse backgrounds and across multiple generations to enjoy fellowship through Masonry."

Most historians believe Freemasonry arose from stonemasons' guilds in the Middle Ages and began to flourish in the 1700's in Europe, the American Colonies and Canada. Today, North America's Masonic Fraternity provides fellowship for over 1.4 million members. Masons are known for their commitment to making good men better and doing good works. Go to Masonic Service Association of North America (MSANA) for more information on Freemasonry and the Mark Twain Award.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Richard Fletcher

Carolyn Bain
Bain Pugh & Associates, Inc.
(301) 320-0773
Email >
Visit website