Colorado BioScience Association Announces 2010 Sponsors and Appoints Nine New Board Members

Share Article

The Colorado BioScience Association (CBSA) announced 2010 association sponsors and welcomed nine new directors at its 2010 Annual All-Member Meeting held at the Colorado National Golf Club facilities in Erie, CO. The agenda also included presentations about the newly formed Colorado Institute for Drug, Device and Diagnostic Development (CID4) and Colorado Center for Drug Discovery (C2D2).

The Colorado BioScience Association (CBSA) announced 2010 association sponsors and welcomed nine new directors at its Annual All-Member Meeting, held yesterday at the Colorado National Golf Club facilities in Erie, CO. The announcement was made by Rick Jory, Chairperson of the CBSA Board of Directors. Jory, CEO of Sandhill Scientific, Inc. - - Highlands Ranch, is beginning his second year of a two-year term as Chairperson.

The CBSA's 2010 association sponsors include:
Titanium - Fitzsimons Life Science District,
Platinum - University of Colorado, - Colorado State University,
Gold - Merck, - Snell & Wilmer, - Boettcher Foundation,
Silver - Amgen, - CaridianBCT, - Cooley Godward Kronish, - Pfizer, - Ernst & Young,
Bronze - Fairfield and Woods, - OSI Pharmaceuticals, - Hogan and Hartson, - Baxa, - PhRMA, - Polsinelli Shughart, - We Work for Health, - Dorsey & Whitney, - TriNet,

Joining Jory on the CBSA Board officer team will be newly appointed vice chairperson Steve Orndorff, President & CEO, Accera, . Treasurer Norwood Robb, Denver School of Science and Technology, and Secretary Linda Pryor, Pfizer, Inc., will both be continuing as officers. In other action, nine new board members were approved by the CBSA membership.

Newly appointed CBSA board members include:
Denise Brown, Principal, DM Brown LLC (presently serving as CBSA Interim Executive Director)
Betty Iverson, State Government Affairs, Johnson & Johnson,
Ruth Lytle-Barnaby, Executive Director, Poudre Valley Health System Foundation,
Nick Saccamono, Chief Technology Officer, SomaLogic,
Chris Smith, President, Cochlear,
Will Vaughn, Director of Technology Transfer, Colorado School of Mines,
Jim Wilson, Senior Audit Manager, Ernst & Young,
Dan Wittenberg, Partner, Snell & Wilmer,
Michael Weiner, Partner, Dorsey & Whitney,

Nominations for new board members were taken from the CBSA membership and acted upon by the 2010 Nominating Committee. The CBSA Board of Directors is comprised of members from the following business affiliations:

  • 20% from traditional biotechnology companies
  • 20% from traditional medical device companies
  • 10% from research organizations
  • 10% from service providers
  • 10% from emerging companies
  • Remainder based on need and opportunity

Reappointed board members, approved by the membership, include:
Rick Duke, President & CEO, CID4, and Apoplogic,
Derek Cole, Vice President Investor Relations & Corporate Communications, ARCA Biopharma,
Kevin Smith, Executive Vice President & COO, CID4,
Dave Allen, Associate Vice President for Technology Transfer, University of Colorado,
Michael Salem, President & CEO, National Jewish Health,
David Perez, President & CEO, CaridianBCT,
Linda Pryor, Director of Government Relations and Public Affairs, Pfizer,
Harry Ross, Managing Partner, Aweida Ventures,
Sean Moriarty, VP General Counsel, Tolmar,
Rahmat Shoureshi, Dean School of Engineering and Computer Science, University of Denver,

In addition to association business, attendees at the CBSA's Annual All-Member Meeting also enjoyed industry networking and presentations about the Colorado Institute for Drug, Device and Diagnostic Development (CID4) by Rick Duke and Kevin Smith, and the Colorado Center for Drug Discovery (C2D2) by Terry Opgenorth.

About Colorado BioScience Association

The Colorado BioScience Association (CBSA) supports the economic development of Colorado through the creation of a premier bioscience cluster within the state. Representing more than 400 members, the CBSA facilitates growth of the bioscience industry in Colorado through advocacy, representation and service. Poised to become one of the most exciting and advanced bioscience clusters in the country, Colorado is currently home to a thriving industry community of biotechnology, medical device, pharmaceutical, health care providers, research institutions and those businesses providing critical services and products to those companies. For more information about Colorado's dynamic bioscience cluster, visit the CBSA at


Leah Kientz, Director of Public Policy & Programming, Colorado BioScience Association - - 303-592-4088

Kathryn Bailey, Director of Operations & Communications, Colorado BioScience Association - - 303-592-4089

Maggie Chamberlin Holben, APR, Absolutely Public Relations - - 303-984-9801 or 303-669-3558

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website