Association of Open Group Enterprise Architects Now Recognizes Microsoft Certified Architects

Share Article

AOGEA Now Recognizes Microsoft Certified Architects

Following Microsoft’s discontinuation of the Microsoft Certified Architect (MCA) Solutions and Infrastructure certifications, the Association of Open Group Enterprise Architects (AOGEA) now recognizes both certifications alongside ITAC, TOGAF™ and Federated Enterprise Architecture Certification (FEAC). All individuals holding either discontinued certifications are eligible for a three-year membership in the AOGEA. The offer, funded by Microsoft, is valid from May 1, 2010, to December 31, 2010. For AOGEA’s official FAQ, please visit:

MCA Solutions or Infrastructure certifications that have been earned remain a valid Microsoft certification, entitling certified professionals to all of the same benefits and privileges. As a member of AOGEA, MCA credentials will be recognized by the world’s largest professional association for certified architects, entitling them to the many benefits that come with membership. With more than 15,000 members located in 72 countries, the AOGEA’s goals are to increase job opportunities for all members and increase their market value by advancing professional excellence, and to raise the status of the profession as a whole.

Members in the AOGEA are recognized by some of the world’s leading employers of enterprise architects, who value The Open Group’s certification programs, including ITAC and TOGAF, as well as the FEAC program. Members also benefit from ongoing advocacy and professional development services, and peer networking opportunities at local chapter meetings and international events. Membership signals true professional excellence based on well-established, neutral and internationally recognized benchmarks.

AOGEA does not require or recommend that MCA certified individuals replace their MCA certification with ITAC or any other certification because it still entitles them to the same benefits and privileges, now with the added value of being a part of the AOGEA community. The AOGEA will continue to honor the MCA certification in perpetuity as satisfying the certification requirements for AOGEA membership. At the end of the three-year term, certified architects will be responsible for payment of their own AOGEA dues if they wish to remain members.

To immediately take advantage of this opportunity, MCA certified practitioners should contact Birgit Hartje at b(dot)hartje(at)aogea(dot)org and provide their MCP ID number, along with a short note that they want to accept the Microsoft offer to join AOGEA.

The Association of Open Group Enterprise Architects (AOGEA) offers several benefits to its members, including enhanced career opportunities through promoting the value of the profession to employers, extensive knowledge sharing and networking within a peer community. AOGEA also offers professional development via participation in globally recognized certification programs; local chapters; special interest groups; workgroups; bulletin boards; and general networking opportunities. The Association’s website can be found at


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Fred Bateman
Visit website