Bobby Bowden Drafted to Join Football Legend Lavell Edwards and Others As ARA Sportsmanship Award Selection Committee Members

Share Article

Retired Legends and Football’s Best Lend a Hand (and Vote) to Boost Sportsmanship’s National Award: The ARA Sportsmanship Award.

The draft may be over but the football world just signed some of the most well-known experts and decorated legends to a different kind of team.

The Awards and Recognition Association’s Sportsmanship Award committee announces today the newest members of their blue ribbon panel selection team. Joining forces with the group, led by former BYU coach LaVell Edwards, are: famed Florida State University coach, Bobby Bowden; Pro Football Weekly’s Hub Arkush; Ted Miller of ESPN and the executive director of the College Sports Information Directors of America (COSIDA), John Humenik. Also joining the group is Jeron Mastrud, the 2009 recipient of the Sportsmanship Award.

As the only national award that focuses on sportsmanship, the ARA National Sportsmanship Award stands out as unique among the millions of sports trophies presented to athletes. To qualify, an athlete must be a starting player or significant contributor on his team, be in good academic standing, demonstrate great respect for competitors, school, teammates and coaches, show an ability to accept victory and defeat graciously, convey a high degree of humility and integrity, and demonstrate commitment in the classroom and to the community.

“We’ve assembled the A-team for choosing sportsmanship standouts for our annual award,” states B.J. Bailey, Jr., of CRS, of Action Trophies & Awards, and president of the ARA. “These individuals represent the best of the best in terms of sports, football and talent for their game. We’re simply thrilled to have them on the ARA team.”

ARA’s selection committee, chaired by Edwards, includes former collegiate and professional coaches and others, Spike Dykes (Texas Tech), Don James (Washington), Dick MacPherson (Syracuse), Don Nehlen (West Virginia), Tubby Raymond (Delaware), Gene Stallings (Alabama), Lee Corso (ESPN), Christine Brennan (USA Today), Steve Hatchell (President, the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame), Bernie Kish (Former Executive Director, College Football Hall of Fame), Lisa Malin (Executive Director, College Football Hall of Fame), Grant Teaff (Executive Director, American Football Coaches Association), Eric Peterman (Northwestern, 2008 recipient), Alex Brink (Washington State, 2007 recipient) and DeAngelo Williams (Carolina Panthers, 2005 recipient).

The Awards and Recognition Association is the official sponsor of the ARA Sportsmanship Award. ARA is a membership organization of 4,000 companies dedicated to increasing the professionalism of recognition specialists and advancing the awards and engraving industry. The ARA is headquartered in Glenview, Ill. For more information about the award, visit

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Susan Stoga
Awards & Recognition Association
Email >
Visit website