Arthurian Novel Wins 2010 Colorado Book Award for Historical Fiction

Share Article

Praise and awards for Kathleen Cunningham Guler’s “A Land Beyond Ravens” makes it clear that Camelot lives on in readers’ hearts. This final installment of a four-volume Arthurian saga is receiving well-deserved awards and kudos from critics everywhere.

The world cannot get enough of the King Arthur legend, and literary awards are making that clear with the adulation being received by the final stunning novel in Kathleen Cunningham Guler’s Arthurian tetralogy, “A Land Beyond Ravens: Book Four of the Macsen’s Treasure Series” (ISBN 9780966037166, Bardsong Press, 2010).

Bardsong Press proudly announces that Kathleen Cunningham Guler’s Arthurian novel, “A Land Beyond Ravens” has just won the 2010 Colorado Book Award in Historical Fiction. The Colorado Book Award is a program that seeks to celebrate the accomplishments of Colorado’s literary community. The Award is meant to both recognize outstanding authors and to promote those authors to Colorado readers.

This award is not the first for “A Land Beyond Ravens” or for the “Macsen’s Treasure Series” of which the novel is the fourth and final installment. Besides this most recent win, “A Land Beyond Ravens” is a finalist in the National Best Books 2009 Awards, sponsored by USA Book News. It also received Second Place in Fiction in the 2010 “EVVY” Awards, sponsored by the Colorado Independent Publishers Association, and it is the 2010 Winner in the Historical Fiction category for the National Indie Excellence Award. And prior to the awards for its latest volume, the “Macsen’s Treasure Series” has won two Colorado Independent Publishers Awards (EVVY’s) for fiction, in 2002 and 2006, for “In the Shadow of Dragons” and “The Anvil Stone,” respectively. “The Anvil Stone” was also recognized as a 2007 Eric Hoffer Book Award finalist and received a Bronze Medal in the Independent Publisher Book Awards (IPPY).

Filled with haunting memories, honor, courage, dreams lost and won, and a powerful love story, “A Land Beyond Ravens” interweaves the history of Dark Age Britain with its mystical Celtic roots and the Arthurian legend. For nearly three decades in fifth century Britain, the novel’s main character, master spy Marcus ap Iorwerth has manipulated stubborn, irascible kings and warlords to unite them against foreign invasion and stop them from destroying each other. With his beloved wife Claerwen, he has followed an even greater, more perilous pursuit—to forge a clear path to fulfill Merlin’s prophecy that one day a great king, Arthur of the Britons, will take command. But as Arthur reaches adulthood, the Christian church is gaining enough power to shift control of Britain. While Marcus struggles to stop the church from crushing Arthur’s chances of becoming an effective king, Claerwen, gifted with the second-sight, foresees doom for his endeavors.

Reviewers agree with contest judges that “A Land Beyond Ravens” is a phenomenal blend of historical fiction and Arthurian legend. Reader Views declares it to be “one of the most historically realistic Arthurian novels ever written, a thoroughly mature work that belongs beside such classics as Rosemary Sutcliffe’s ‘Sword at Sunset’ and Mary Stewart’s ‘Merlin trilogy.’” Crystal Reviews states it is “a story so engaging that one can’t stop reading.” And Feather Quill Reviews proclaims, “If you enjoy one book in this Macsen’s Treasure Series, Merlin himself couldn’t stop you from hunting up the rest.”

About the Author
Kathleen Cunningham Guler is the author of the multi-award winning “Macsen’s Treasure Series” set in fifth-century Arthurian Britain. The series includes “Into the Path of Gods,” “In the Shadow of Dragons,” “The Anvil Stone,” and “A Land Beyond Ravens.” For nearly thirty years, she has studied Celtic history and the Arthurian legend with fascination. She is a proud descendant of the Celtic nations of Wales and Scotland, and she enjoys membership in the Historical Novel Society and the International Arthurian Society. Besides writing novels, Guler has edited two anthologies of Celtic poetry, short stories and essays, published many articles, and for two years was Assistant Editor of “Bardsong: The Journal for Celebrating the Celtic Spirit.”

“A Land Beyond Ravens: Book Four of the Macsen’s Treasure Series” (ISBN 9780966037166, Bardsong Press, 2010) can be purchased through local and online bookstores. For more information, visit Review copies available upon request.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website