Kwikset Kicks-Off Cross-Country "LiveSmart" Mobile Tour

Share Article

If your summer plans include any home improvement projects, there's a good chance you will encounter Kwikset's "LiveSmart" Mobile Tour at various home improvement retailers across the country.

This year, we decided it was time to hit the road and meet more of our customers face-to-face to spread the word to those who don't know about compromised home security, and how simple it is to improve.

Kwikset®, a leader in the residential door hardware industry, today announced the launch of its first-ever cross-country mobile tour. Titled "LiveSmart," the four-month long road-trip aims to show homeowners how easy it is to live "smart" and improve home security, simply and easily. The tour kicked-off this past weekend in Mass. and will make its way westward before coming to a final stop the weekend of Oct. 8 in Fontana, Calif. at the NASCAR races. The new Kwikset rig and mobile showroom team will set-up at various home improvement retailers across the country with a tent area featuring an emcee, games and tons of giveaways.

More than three years ago, Kwikset introduced SmartKey® re-key technology, which allows homeowners to re-key their own locks anytime, quickly and easily, without removal from the door. This is a perfect solution when you have a set of keys that have been lost, loaned or unreturned. Homeowners with SmartKey no longer have to worry about the key the ex-babysitter or ex-housekeeper never returned. A set of lost keys no longer translates to lost time and money to schedule and pay a locksmith to change the lock. With SmartKey, homeowners are empowered to improve and maintain their own home and family's security in a matter of seconds, and there's no downtime where security is compromised while you wait for help to arrive.

"This revolutionary product has been the first, and for the last three years, the only one of its kind available to homeowners at retail," said Brent Flaharty, vice president, Marketing, Kwikset. "This year, we decided it was time to hit the road and meet more of our customers face-to-face to spread the word to those who don't know about compromised home security, and how simple it is to improve. Our research has shown us that while homeowners feel home security is a priority, many don't realize their security is compromised by not re-keying a lock when moving in to a new residence, or by having multiple keys floating around with various people - a contractor, a neighbor, or a babysitter for example. The simple act of re-keying, which takes mere seconds, can significantly improve home security, while giving homeowners greater access control and peace of mind."

Calendar of Tour Stops*
Click here for event locations.

Lowe's: Friday, July 02,2010, Woburn, MA
Home Depot: Saturday, July 03, 2010, South Attleboro, MA
Home Depot: Wednesday, July 07,2010, Waterbury, CT
Home Depot: Thursday, July 08,2010, Bridgeport, CT
Lowe's: Friday, July 09,2010, Danbury, CT
Home Depot: Saturday, July 10, 2010, Norwalk, CT
Home Depot: Wednesday, July 14, 2010, Jericho, NY
Home Depot: Thursday, July 15, 2010, Flushing, NY
Lowe's: Friday, July 16, 2010, Brooklyn, NY
Home Depot: Saturday, July 17, 2010, Ozone Park, NY
Home Depot: Monday, July 19, 2010, Brooklyn, NY
Home Depot: Thursday, July 22, 2010, Bel Air, MD
Lowe's: Friday, July 23, 2010, Baltimore, MD
Home Depot: Saturday, July 24, 2010, Gaithersburg, MD
Home Depot: Monday, July 26, 2010 Springfield, VA
Home Depot: Thursday, July 29, 2010, Marietta, GA
Lowe's: Friday, July 30, 2010, Conyers, GA
Home Depot: Saturday, July 31, 2010, Atlanta, GA
Home Depot: Monday, August 02, 2010, Atlanta, GA
Home Depot: Tuesday, August 03, 2010, Roswell, GA
Lowe's: Friday, August 06, 2010, Clinton Township, MI
Home Depot: Saturday, August 07, 2010, Livonia, MI
Home Depot: Monday, August 09, 2010, Roseville, MI
Home Depot: Tuesday, August 10, 2010, Madison Heights, MI
Lowe's: Friday, August 13, 2010, Chicago, IL
Home Depot: Saturday, August 14, 2010, Chicago, IL
Menards: Tuesday, August 17, 2010, Eau Claire, WI    
Lowe's: Friday, August 27, 2010, Mesquite, TX
Home Depot: Saturday, August 28, 2010, Mesquite, TX
Home Depot: Monday, August 30, 2010, Selma, TX
Home Depot: Tuesday, August 31, 2010, Arlington, TX
Lowe's: Friday, September 03, 2010, Scottsdale, AZ
Home Depot: Saturday, September 04, 2010, Phoenix, AZ
Home Depot: Monday, September 06, 2010, Scottsdale, AZ
Home Depot: Tuesday, September 07, 2010, Mesa, AZ
Lowe's: Friday, September 10, 2010, Las Vegas, NV
Home Depot: Saturday, September 11, 2010, Las Vegas, NV
Home Depot: Monday, September 13, 2010, Las Vegas, NV
Home Depot: Tuesday, September 14, 2010, Las Vegas, NV
Lowe's: Friday, September 17, 2010, San Diego, CA
Home Depot: Saturday, September 18, 2010, Hawthorne, CA
Home Depot: Monday, September 20, 2010, El Cajon, CA
Kwikset HQ Event: Wednesday, September 22, 2010, Lake Forest, CA
Home Depot: Thursday, September 23, 2010, Costa Mesa, CA
Lowe's: Friday, September 24, 2010, Westminster, CA
Home Depot: Saturday, September 25, 2010, Huntington Beach, CA
Home Depot: Monday, September 27, 2010, Los Angeles, CA
Home Depot: Tuesday, September 28, 2010, Hollywood, CA
Lowe's: Thursday, September 30, 2010, Hawthorne, CA
Lowe's: Friday, October 01, 2010, Burbank, CA
Home Depot: Saturday, October 02, 2010, North Hollywood, CA
Home Depot: Monday, October 04, 2010, Monrovia, CA
Home Depot: Tuesday, October 05, 2010, Los Angeles, CA
Home Depot: Thursday, October 07, 2010, Fontana, CA
Lowe's: Friday, October 08, 2010, Fontana, CA
NASCAR Race: Saturday, October 09, 2010, Fontana, CA    
NASCAR Race: Sunday, October 10, 2010, Fontana, CA
*Subject to change    

LiveSmart National Sweepstakes

In addition to the LiveSmart Mobile Tour, Kwikset will be hosting a national LiveSmart Sweepstakes. The sweepstakes, which will run through Nov. 1, 2010, was created to not only increase awareness of simple and "smart" ways homeowners can improve home security, but how they can improve their entire home, life, and environment with "smart" products. Homeowners are encouraged to enter at http://www.KwiksetLiveSmart.com for a chance to win one of a series of "smart" home product prize packages that will include Kwikset SmartKey product(s) along with other smart products for your home, including the grand prize, a Smart Car: smart fortwo coupe. Prize packages are valued from $700 to over $24,000 for the smart fortwo coupe Car Package.

Follow Kwikset on Facebook and Twitter for real-time updates on the sweepstakes and mobile tour.

About SmartKey

SmartKey locks and deadbolts] feature a patented side-locking bar technology, central to the locks ability to be rapidly and easily re-keyed. This stainless steel side-locking bar also replaces the traditional pin and tumbler design that is particularly vulnerable to increasingly popular lock-bumping attacks. SmartKey deadbolts and locks also come with its standard BumpGuard™ protection built-in. In addition, the cylinder uses two steel balls inserted into the front of the key face to provide improved drill resistance. Delivering outstanding strength and protection, SmartKey deadbolts and locks have passed the most stringent lock picking standard, UL 437, par. 11.6.

Kwikset's SmartKey Signature Series™ deadbolts also have earned the prestigious Best Buy rating from Consumers Digest Magazine in the residential deadbolt lock category. Selected based on performance and features, the "Best Buys" in residential deadbolt locks were announced in an article published in the February 2010 issue titled, "Peace of Mind: Top-Notch Door Locks and Safes."

About Kwikset

Stanley Black & Decker, an S&P 500 company, is a diversified global provider of hand tools, power tools and related accessories, mechanical access solutions and electronic security solutions, engineered fastening systems, and more.

The Stanley Black & Decker Hardware and Home Improvement Group (HHI) is part of
the company's Mechanical Access Solutions division. HHI develops, manufactures, markets
and sells builders' hardware, residential and commercial door hardware, kitchen and bath
faucets, shower systems and bath accessories under the Stanley, National Hardware,
Kwikset, Weiser®, Baldwin®, K2™ and Price Pfister® brands. Headquartered in Orange
County, California, HHI has a global sales force and operates manufacturing and distribution facilities in the US, Canada, Mexico, and Asia.

###

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Sara Sloan
PainePR
949-809-6856
Email >