July 30 CCMC Scholarship Opportunity Deadline Approaching

Share Article

Time is running out for Certified Case Managers to apply for the CCMC Patricia McCollom Scholarship

The Commission for Case Manager Certification (CCMC) invites all current certified case managers to apply for the Third Annual Patricia McCollom Professional Case Manager Scholarship. The one-time, $1,000 scholarship supports tuition, travel and expenses of continuing education for a certified case manager (CCM).

Now in its third year, the scholarship honors former CCMC Commissioner Patricia McCollom, a certified case manager best known for her passion for continuing education and skill as a speaker. CCMC, committed to being the global leader for the advancement and evolution of case management, bestows this distinction on dedicated certified case managers who exemplify values that promote and advance quality case management practice.

“The time has come again to name a certified case manager who is not only committed to his/her career, but also to advancing the case management profession,” said CCMC Board of Commissioners Chair Annette C. Watson, RN-BC, CCM, MBA. “I encourage all certified case managers who aspire to continue developing their knowledge of the field to consider this excellent opportunity.”

In 2009, the Patricia McCollom Scholarship was awarded to Cynthia Bracey, MSN, RN, CCM, of Fort Bragg, N.C. Bracey, a case manager with the Army’s Wounded Warrior program earned her case management certification in April 2009, and began her pursuit of a public health Ph.D. – her fourth higher education degree – at Walden University in December 2009. The scholarship money afforded her the ability to attend the American Public Health Association annual meeting in Philadelphia last November. Bracey was awarded the scholarship based on her commitment to lifelong learning, and is now working to develop a research project that applies the skills of case management to improve the utilization of health care resources for homeless female veterans.

The scholarship opportunity is open to all current CCMs, not including current or past CCMC Commissioners, who are presently working in the case management field. For specific details about the documentation required with all applications, select the “Latest News” subhead under the “About CCMC” menu option. Please note incomplete applications will not be reviewed. The application deadline is July 30, 2010, and the award recipient will be notified in October, during Case Management Week.

About CCMC
The Commission for Case Manager Certification is the first and largest nationally accredited organization that certifies case managers. The CCMC is a nonprofit, volunteer organization that oversees the process of case manager certification with its CCM® credential. CCMC is positioned as the most active and prestigious certification organization supporting the case management industry. To learn more, visit http://ccmcertification.org/, connect with CCMC on Facebook and follow CCMC on Twitter @CCM_Cert.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print