New Album From Norwegian Songstress Silje Nes Set For Release October 12, 2010 Via FatCat Records

Share Article

New release from Norwegian songstress/multi-instrumentalist Silje Nes - Opticks - October 12th, 2010 (FatCat) / Free MP3 Download for "The Grass Harp" / Upcoming Tour and Tracklisting

Silje Nes by Sirio Magnabosco

"Nes' music is less a genre than a mood: sometimes haunted, and other times slinky" - Paste

Nearly a year and a half in the making, Opticks is a gently enchanting new record that - while once again home-recorded - dramatically upgrades Silje Nes's sound and sees her making considerable advances on her acclaimed 2008 debut, Ames Room. Intricately constructed, warm and brimming with melodic hooks, Opticks is a record full of wonder, unfurling a series of increasingly accessible and catchy little songs.

Created between autumn 2008 and winter 2009, the album was mixed with Tarwater's Bernd Jestram. More melodic and a little less experimental than her debut, its beautiful combination of sweet hooks and lush, intricate textural detail ensure that it's a place to which listeners will want to return. Nes's beautiful, breathy vocals are projected further forward in the mix than previously, becoming less another texture than a central focus for the whole, and bringing along a compelling new intimacy.

Orbiting around Nes's unique vocals, are tracks constructed from a wide range of instruments and effects - guitars, drums, viola, bass, xylophone, electronics, keyboards, concertina, flute, trumpet, percussion and, as Nes puts it, "basically anything I have lying around, adding random recordings of things, video clips, effects..."

Despite - or, more likely, due to - this kitchen sink approach, Opticks is a coherent expression of Silje Nes's lovely, forward-looking vision: engaging, delicate, and transformative.

"The Grass Harp", the opening track on Opticks, coyly invites listeners into Nes's world. The song's many layers reveal themselves in a slow-motion textural deluge as organic instrumentation, found sounds, and electronic patterns intertwine. What follows is an album of deliberately paced experimentation by an artist who has effortlessly developed a singular musical persona.

Free MP3 download of the first single "The Grass Harp":

-- "Ames Room, has a child-like innocence that plays like a dreamy collection of other-worldly lullabies" - NPR

-- "Nes' music is less a genre than a mood: sometimes haunted, and other times slinky" - Paste

-- "Unlike many bedroom auteurs who try to make one musician sound like many, Nes crafts music that actually reflects that isolation: Ames Room sounds like it's emanating from deep within her imagination" - Pitchfork

Nes toured the US with Dodos around the release of Ames Room, and crossed the country again in summer 2010 supporting DM Stith; she is currently touring the UK opening for Mice Parade, and is scheduling US tour dates for November.

1. The Grass Harp
2. Symmetry of Empty Space
3. Rewind
4. Silver>blue
5. The Card House
6. Levitation
7. The Shades
8. Crystals
9. Branches
10. Hello Luminance
11. Ruby Red


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Miranda Lange
Email >
Visit website