Molina Literacy Awards Honoring Outstanding Contributions to Literacy and Early Childhood Education Announced

Share Article

Molina Awards To Be Presented To Lynn Hirshfield, Dr. Jenn Berman And Screen Actors Guild Foundation.

ABOUT THE MOLINA FOUNDATION As a family physician, Dr. Martha Bernadett understood personally the barriers to health access faced by those with limited English proficiency and launched the Molina Foundation in 2004.

Dr. Martha Bernadett, the founder and CEO of the Molina Foundation and Arnold Peter, Chair of the Foundation’s Awards Committee, today announced that the Inaugural Molina Literacy Awards will be presented to:

  •     Lynn Hirshfield, Senior Vice President of Publishing for Participant Media. Hirshfield is also an Emmy, Peabody and Television Critics award recipient as a development executive and the author of a best-selling book, Girls Gone Green.
  •     Dr. Jenn Berman, child-rearing expert, television personality and author of the Los Angeles Times best-selling book The A to Z Guide to Raising Happy Confident Kids, SuperBaby: 12 Ways to Give Your Child a Head Start in the First 3 Years and the children’s book Rockin’ Babies.
  •     Screen Actors Guild Foundation which has developed and manages three outstanding children’s literacy programs

Peter explained that both Dr. C. David Molina and his wife Mary were once elementary school teachers before creating Molina Healthcare. The company has now developed into the largest Hispanic-owned business in the United States with revenues in excess of $3.7 billion. The Molina Literacy Awards honor the memory of the founders of this innovative healthcare company. The company which started with one clinic in Long Beach, California now serves roughly 1.5 million low income patients throughout the country. Dr. C. David and Mary Molina believed that early childhood education and literacy had the power to transform the lives of the underprivileged in our society. The inaugural award ceremony will feature a special tribute to Dr. C. David and Mary Molina, according to Peter.

“We are pleased to be honoring two outstanding women who continue to inspire and spark the imagination of young minds,” indicated Dr. Bernadett.. "Along with Lynn and Jenn, we are thrilled to honor the Screen Actors Guild Foundation which, since 1993, has been a pioneer in children’s literacy through its innovative BookPALS, Storyline Online and PencilPALS programs.”

The Molina Literacy Awards will be presented on October 1, 2010 during a Gala Luncheon at the iconic entertainment industry venue, the House of Blues. For sponsorships information, please contact saladag(at)hotmail(dot)com and for individual ticket sales please visit


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Serra Aladag

(760) 799-9238
Email >
Visit website