Sixth Annual New York Television Festival Announces Awards & Development Deals From FOX, IFC, USA, MTV, AETN and People’s Choice Award

Share Article

More than $50,000 Handed Out In Development Deals

The sixth annual New York Television Festival (NYTVF) announced the winners of its Independent Pilot Competition, NYTVF People’s Choice award, FOX-NYTVF Comedy Script Contest, IFC “Out of the Box” and MTV Animation awards at a ceremony hosted at the SVA Theatre in Manhattan.

The Festival joined with its partners to announce the winners of the FOX-NYTVF Comedy Script Contest, offering a $25,000 prize and a development deal to Austen Earl and Luke Cunningham for “Red Delicious.” IFC’s “Out of the Box” award winners Matt Yeager and Jeff Skowron received a $25,000 development deal for their pilot “Greg and Donny.”

The Independent Pilot Competition winners were selected from 42 independent television projects created by talented writers and producers from across the U.S., Canada and the UK. MTV presented its MTV Animation Award to “9 AM Meeting,” which was accompanied by a $5,000 development deal, USA presented its “Characters Welcome” award for outstanding character creation to the title character in “The Horrible, Terrible Misadventures of David Atkins,” AETN honored “Til Death Do Us Parts” with the “Best Nonscripted or Alternative Pilot” award, and the third annual NYTVF People’s Choice Award was presented to “Illuminati Brothers”, as the audience favorite.

Awards were also presented for Best Comedy Pilot, Best Drama Pilot, Best Web Series Pilot, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Non-scripted Host, Best Writing and Best Director.

“We congratulate all the artists whose work was featured at the 2010 New York Television Festival and send our gratitude to our partners, sponsors and all the attendees who help support the independent television movement,” said NYTVF founder Terence Gray. “The New York Television Festival enjoyed unprecedented success in 2010, in terms of submissions, attendance and industry recognition, and it will continue to help elevate writers and producers creating content for TV and digital platforms.”

As announced at the NYTVF Awards Ceremony, following are the awards and their winners.

NYTVF Special Competition Winners
Voted by popular choice at Festival screenings to honor the audience’s favorite submission in the Independent Pilot Competition, the 2010 NYTVF People’s Choice Award for Best Pilot was presented to Matt Fisher, Alden Ford, and Justin Tyler for “Illuminati Brothers.” The pilot follows two fun-loving brothers who inherit the leadership of a secret society that has been running the world for centuries.

The comedy pilot "Red Delicious" was named the winner of the FOX-NYTVF Comedy Script Contest. As part of this distinction, Austen Earl and Luke Cunningham will receive $25,000 and a development deal with Fox Broadcasting Company. The script follows an overweight Philadelphia kid's attempt to escape the neighborhood that torments him.

NYTVF Independent Pilot Competition Winners
The 2010 Independent Pilot Competition featured 42 pilots in a wide variety of television genres.
This year’s “NYTVF Awards” were presented to pilots and pilot-makers in the following categories:

Best Comedy Pilot: “Illuminati Brothers”
Created by: Matt Fisher, Alden Ford, and Justin Tyler (Brooklyn, NY)
Two fun-loving brothers inherit the leadership of a secret society that has been running the world for centuries.

Best Drama Pilot: “Pioneer One”
Created by: Josh Bernhard (New York, NY)
An object from space spreads radiation over North America. Fearing terrorism, U.S. Homeland Security agents are dispatched to investigate and contain the damage.

AETN’s Best Nonscripted or Alternative Pilot: “Til Death Do Us Parts”
Created by: Frank Mosca, Joe Ferrer, John Morena, Stephen Franciosa (Brooklyn, NY)
Joe, the hard working owner of BS&F Auto Parts in the South Bronx must choose between his high-stress business life or his health and well-being.

MTV Animation Award: “9 AM Meeting”
Created by: Dan McCoy (Brooklyn, NY)
Two unassuming office drones are stuck in an early morning meeting that their boss may or may not have entirely forgotten.

Best Web Series Pilot: “Jack In A Box”
Created by: Michael Cyril Creighton with Marcie Hume (New York, NY)
A mild-mannered young man with a BFA in acting and no life skills, Jack takes a job at a box office because it doesn’t involve lifting, blazers or Excel. Thousands of customers later, Jack finds himself less mild-mannered than ever before.

Best Actor: Ryan Judd for “Sugar Babies” (New York, NY)
Joe Billings is a path-of-least-resistance slacker and heir to a fortune built on sanitary supplies who learns from his dying father that his entire inheritance is being willed to Joe's future children.

Best Actress: Kate Manning for “Gelber and Manning in Pictures” (Brooklyn, NY)
Gelber and Manning are everyone’s favorite romantic vaudeville duo both on and off the stage, and are on the verge of making it big, however a “peculiar condition” threatens the very foundation of their love.

Best Nonscripted Host: Kurt Braunohler for “Pointless” (New York, NY)
Three comedians compete in a game show with challenges such as insulting injured people, making suggestions for how to improve the evolution of animals, and drawing penises based on a theme suggested by the studio audience.

Best Writing: Nipper Knapp, Matthew Letscher, Andrew Newberg for “Gentrification” (Los Angeles, CA)
Offers up a plate of honest, unflinching perspectives as two young families navigate their way through the ever-shifting landscape in which they are the minority – blending in like a kazoo in a Mariachi band.

Best Directing: Justin Dec for “Rolling” (Miami, FL)
Two friends Danny and Harry chase their dream of making television by starting at the bottom, landing jobs working on the hit crime show Citizen’s Arrest: Miami.

USA’s Characters Welcome Award: “David Atkins” as played by French Stewart for “The Horrible, Terrible Misadventures of David Atkins” (Los Angeles, CA)
David Atkins is a once high-flying writer-director who has moved to L.A. in hopes of reinvigorating his career.

IFC’s Out of the Box Award: “Greg and Donny”
Created by: Matt Yeager and Jeff Skowron (Los Angeles, CA)
The Out of the Box Award is given to the most innovative or genre-expanding pilot in competition. This year’s winner “Greg and Donny” features the adventures of two friends, Greg and Donny, from a small town in western Pennsylvania. The 2008 Out of the Box Award winner, “Food Party,” has aired as a series on IFC for two seasons.

Full descriptions of all pilots are available online at

The NYTVF is supported by sponsors including People’s Choice, MSN, and WME Entertainment. Official Network Sponsors for the 2010 NYTVF include ABC, FOX, NBC, IFC and ION Television. The NYTVF works in conjunction with the Mayor’s Office of New York City. For tickets or more information on the NYTVF, please visit

About the New York Television Festival

The NYTVF was founded in 2005 as the industry’s first recognized independent television festival, providing a platform to elevate the work of artists creating for the small screen. Held annually each fall in New York City, the birthplace of modern television, the Festival unites artists, executives, industry figures and fans together in one forum to celebrate the medium and to help shape its future. Along with the Independent Pilot Competition, the Festival features panel discussions, network premiere screenings, and other special events designed to honor television as an institution and as an art form.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Andrea Sioris
Visit website