Colorado BioScience Association Announces Winners Of Its 2010 Awards, Honoring The Best of Colorado's Bioscience Industry

Share Article

The Colorado BioScience Association (CBSA) honored the outstanding bioscience companies and individuals in the state during its 2010 Annual Awards Dinner held in conjunction with the BioWest Conference & Expo at the Denver Grand Hyatt. The Annual Awards Dinner gives CBSA the ability to showcase companies and individuals that have had an outstanding year and to celebrate the industry as a whole.

The Colorado BioScience Association (CBSA) announced the winners of its 2010 industry awards during the Annual Awards Dinner presented on September 29 at the Grand Hyatt, Denver. The announcement is made by Holli Baumunk, CBSA President and CEO, who says the CBSA awards program showcases and honors those individuals and companies making a significant difference to Colorado's vibrant bioscience industry in 2010. The Annual Awards Dinner was held in conjunction with the 2010 BioWest Conference & Expo.

"The bioscience industry in Colorado is one that we are all very proud of," Baumunk said. "Our Annual Awards Dinner gives CBSA the ability to showcase the companies and individuals that have had an outstanding year and to celebrate the industry as a whole."

Recipients of the 2010 awards are:

  • Life Time Achievement Award -- Robert Collins. Robert Collins has been called one of the two "Father's of Colorado's Medical Device Industry." In 1964, Mr. Collins and his business partner Ran Bellows moved their small southern California business to Lakewood, Colorado. Their company, COBE Laboratories, manufactured and distributed medical specialty products around the world, and soon became an international player in the medical device sector.
  • Life Time Achievement Award - Robert Anderson. Robert Anderson is also known as one of the two "Father's of Colorado's Medical Device Industry." In 1969, Mr. Anderson co-founded Valleylab, Inc., and served as their CEO and Chairman until January 1986. He relinquished his role as CEO in 1986 and continued as Chairman until retiring in May of 1996.
  • 2010 Company of the Year Award -- Amgen. Amgen Colorado was born out of a collaboration with researchers at the University of Colorado with Dr. Marvin Caruthers serving as one of the company's founding researchers. Amgen first began research operations in Boulder in 1981, and in 1995, Amgen acquired the Boulder facility which expanded when it bought a local biotech company, Synergen Inc. Visit
  • 2010 Rising Star Award -- Sharklet Technologies. Sharklet Technologies is an Aurora-based life science company that has engineered a revolutionary surface product called Sharklet. Unlike anything on the market today, Sharklet is the first non-toxic, long lasting and no-kill surface used to control the growth of bacteria. Visit
  • Volunteer of the Year Award - Larry Blankenship. Larry Blankenship is the CEO of ValveXchange, an Aurora based medical device firm which is working to improve heart valve replacement procedure by developing a two-piece bioprosthetic tissue valve system. Larry also sits on the Board of the Colorado BioScience Association. Visit
  • Educator of the Year Award - Deanna Scott. Deanna Scott is a prime example of an innovative and outstanding educator in our community. Ms. Scott serves as the Associate Director for the BioMARC Outreach Training Program for Product Translation at Colorado State University. Visit
  • 2010 Partner of the Year Award - University of Colorado Technology Transfer Office and Colorado State University Technology Transfer Office. Over the last seven years, Colorado's bioscience industry has grown faster than the national average and the research conducted in the state has garnered both national and international attention. This success is highly due to the tremendous technology transfer offices within the state's research institutions. Visit and
  • 2010 CBSA Chairman's Award - Dr. Temple Grandin. Dr. Temple Grandin was born in Boston, Massachusetts. Her achievements are remarkable because she was an autistic child. After considerable personal perseverance and unwaivering support from her family and a special science teacher mentor, Dr. Grandin obtained her B.A. at Franklin Pierce College in 1970. In 1974, she was employed as Livestock Editor for the Arizona Farmer Ranchman and also worked for Corral Industries on equipment design. In 1975, she earned her M.S. in Animal Science at Arizona State University for her work on the behavior of cattle in different squeeze chutes. Dr. Grandin was awarded her Ph.D. in Animal Science from the University of Illinois in 1989 and is currently a Professor at Colorado State University. Visit or

About Colorado BioScience Association

The CBSA supports the economic development of Colorado through the creation of a premier bioscience cluster within the state. Representing more than 400 members, the CBSA facilitates growth of the bioscience industry in Colorado through advocacy, representation and service. For more information about Colorado's dynamic bioscience cluster, visit the CBSA at
CBSA also is found on these social media sites:
LinkedIn Group:
Facebook Fan Page:
News Feed:
YouTube Channel:


Leah Kientz, Director, Public Policy & Programs, Colorado BioScience Association - - 303-592-4088

Maggie Chamberlin Holben, APR, Absolutely Public Relations - - 303-984-9801


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website