Camera System Helps Police Find Drivers with Auto Insurance Issues

Share Article

In Utah, police are now better able to find drivers whose registration has been revoked due to auto insurance issues. OnlineAutoInsurance.com offers an alternative perspective to consumers who think getting covered is too expensive of an option.

A number of state officials have recently proposed syncing up camera systems alongside roads and at intersections with state databases in order to find and fine motorists that are on the road without proper auto insurance. Though no statewide system has been put in place yet, law enforcement officials have been using license-plate-recognition technology on a smaller scale.

The prospect of having such a system may make drivers think twice about forgoing coverage in order to dodge the cost of purchasing a full policy up front. When considering the price of paying for the fines associated with getting caught behind the wheel without coverage, securing monthly auto insurance with low down payment might actually end up being the more cost-effective option.

Take, for example, the camera system recently implemented by the Weber County, Utah, Sheriff’s Office. Not long ago, the office put to use a new vehicle equipped with four cameras that can automatically collect license plate information from passing cars. Once the information is received, it is run through a database that tells the officer if the vehicle’s owner has any outstanding warrants or if the car has been stolen or has registration issues.

If an auto is found to have revoked registration due to a lack of insurance, the driver may be pulled over and, ultimately, slapped with penalties.

For Utah drivers, the fines for this particular situation add up quickly. First of all, an unregistered vehicle is liable to impound. Then, the owner must pay for towing, impound and storage fees. After that, the owner must pay an “improper registration” fee of $43 as well as a $100 “no insurance” reinstatement fee. On top of all that, a conviction of driving without coverage brings with it a fine ranging from $400 to $1,000, depending on the number of prior offenses. And, in the end, the motorist must purchase a policy if he or she wants to re-register the vehicle properly.

Source: http://www.dmv.utah.gov/

Considering the repercussions that can come from driving without coverage, a driver may want to look into a monthly plan rather than going uncovered in order to avoid having to pay a lump sum.

To learn more about monthly and low down payment policies, readers can go to http://www.onlineautoinsurance.com/pay-monthly/car-insurance-no-down-payment/ where visitors will also be evaluate rates from a variety of carriers by using the free quote-comparison generator.

###

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

John Pirro
Visit website