Jan Williams of the University of Tennessee at Knoxville Assumes Chair of AACSB International

Share Article

The world's most prestigious accrediting body for business schools and largest membership association for management education proudly announces its chair and Board of Directors for 2011-12.

Jan R. Williams, dean and Stokely Foundation Leadership Chair at the University of Tennessee’s College of Business Administration, began a one-year term July 1, 2011 as chair of the board of directors of AACSB International (AACSB).

Elected to the AACSB board in 2004 as a member, and as vice chair-chair elect in 2010, Williams’ volunteer work with the association includes participation on numerous committees and task forces. Over the years, he has provided great direction to the future of management education by serving as chair and/or a member of committees such as the Blue Ribbon Committee on Accreditation Quality, the Special Committee on Global Accreditation Quality, the Impact of Research Task Force, and the Committee on Issues in Management Education (CIME).

In addition, Williams has played an active role in the AACSB accreditation process by serving as chair and/or a member of several peer review teams and accreditation committees. He is a prominent speaker, and has presented at more than 20 AACSB conferences and seminars around the world. As chair, Williams succeeds Andrew Policano, dean of The Paul Merage School of Business at the University of California, Irvine.

Since 1999, Williams has served as dean of the College of Business Administration and the Stokely Foundation Leadership Chair at the University of Tennessee (UT), and as a faculty member since 1977. He received a B.S. degree from George Peabody College, an MBA from Baylor University, and a Ph.D. from the University of Arkansas. He previously served on the faculties at the University of Georgia and Texas Tech University.

He is the former head of UT's Department of Accounting and Information Management. He is a CPA in Tennessee and Arkansas. Currently, he is the co-author of three books and has published over 70 articles and other publications on issues of corporate financial reporting and accounting education. Williams has been extensively involved in professional accounting and business organizations. He served as president of the American Accounting Association in 1999-2000 and also has been actively involved in Beta Alpha Psi, the Tennessee Society of CPAs, and the American Institute of CPAs.

Board Members from Prominent Business Schools to Serve in 2011-2012
In addition, 29 other prominent management education professionals from business schools around the world will serve on the AACSB board for 2011-2012.

“We congratulate our new and returning board members,” said John J. Fernandes, president and chief executive officer of AACSB International. “AACSB will benefit from the significant wisdom, experience, and leadership that these individuals bring to the board. We look forward to their many contributions in the year ahead.”


  • Joseph A. DiAngelo, Saint Joseph’s University (USA) as vice chair-chair elect
  • W. Randy Box, Shenandoah University (USA) as secretary-treasurer
  • John J. Fernandes, AACSB International (USA) as president and chief executive officer

Board members with terms expiring 2012:

  • Fernando D’Alessio, CENTRUM Católica (Peru)
  • Linda R. Garceau, East Tennessee State University (USA)
  • Ellen J. Glazerman, Ernst & Young LLP (USA)
  • Jaime A. Gomez, Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey (Mexico)
  • Thierry Grange, Grenoble Ecole de Management (France)
  • Finn Junge-Jensen, Copenhagen Business School (Denmark)
  • Linda A. Livingstone, Pepperdine University (USA)
  • Michel Patry, HEC Montréal (Canada)
  • Andrew J. Policano, University of California, Irvine (USA) as immediate past chair
  • Robert S. Sullivan, University of California, San Diego (USA)
  • John E. Williams, Morehouse College (USA)

Board members with terms expiring 2013:

  • Timothy Brailsford, The University of Queensland (Australia)
  • Geralyn McClure Franklin, University of Dallas (USA)
  • William H. Glick, Rice University (USA)
  • Christopher P. Puto, University of St. Thomas—Minnesota (USA)
  • Yingyi Qian, Tsinghua University (China)
  • Robert D. Reid, James Madison University (USA)
  • Lynne D. Richardson, University of Mary Washington (USA)
  • Mark A. Zupan, University of Rochester (USA)

Board members with terms expiring 2014:

  • William A. Dempsey, Kutztown University (USA)
  • Susan Hart, University of Strathclyde (United Kingdom)
  • Craig M McAllaster, Rollins College (USA)
  • Patrick Molle, EMLYON (France)
  • Michael J. Page, Bentley University (USA)
  • David G. Payne, Educational Testing Service (USA)
  • Robert T. Sumichrast, The University of Georgia (USA)

For more information on AACSB International governance, visit: http://www.aacsb.edu/about/.

About AACSB International
AACSB International (The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business), founded in 1916, is an association of more than 1,200 educational institutions, businesses, and other organizations in 78 countries and territories. AACSB’s mission is to advance quality management education worldwide through accreditation, thought leadership, and value-added services. As the premier accreditation body for institutions offering undergraduate, master’s, and doctorate degrees in business and accounting, the association also conducts a wide array of conferences and seminar programs at locations throughout the world. AACSB's global headquarters is located in Tampa, Florida, USA and its Asia headquarters is located in Singapore.

For more information, please visit http://www.aacsb.edu.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Amy Ponzillo
Visit website