Paradise Cay Publications Announces the Upcoming Release of "Bull Canyon: A Boatbuilder, a Writer and other Wildlife" by Lin Pardey

Share Article

"Bull Canyon" will be available nationwide on June 1, 2011.

Paradise Cay Publications announces the upcoming release of Bull Canyon: A Boatbuilder, a Writer and other Wildlife by Lin Pardey. Bull Canyon (Hardcover, ISBN: 978-1-929214-67-9, $24.95, 6 x 9, 304 pages; eBook, ISBN: 978-1-929214-66-2, $16.95, Category: Autobiography/Memoir) will be available wherever fine books are sold on June 1, 2011.

Internationally famous for their sailing adventures, Lin Pardey and her husband Larry came to California in 1980. Fresh off an eleven-year-long sailing adventure, Lin and Larry were looking for a good spot to build a boat, test Lin's skills as a writer and taste the apparent security that life ashore could offer. Bull Canyon, an isolated area nestled in a rocky outcropping of winding dirt roads, 60 miles from the sea, and 50 miles from Los Angeles, seemed an unlikely spot for boatbuilding, but when Lin and Larry set eyes on the abandoned stone cottage at the top of a craggy, dusty lane--a place that begged to be lived in--they knew they'd come home.

Bull Canyon: A Boatbuilder, a Writer and other Wildlife chronicles their four years spent far from the sea, building the boat of their dreams in remote Bull Canyon. Much more than a memoir, Bull Canyon is a story about joy, victories, failures and finding home in even the unlikeliest of places.

Told with the deft touch of a true storyteller, Bull Canyon paints a vivid portrait of a life that involved packrats in the ceiling, flooding rains that would make Noah himself cower, fires, an occasional cougar, traveling dangerous--and often impassable--roads just to get to the nearest grocery store, no piped-in water, no electricity, no phones, and not even a proper address to receive mail.

In a sure and pitch-perfect voice, Lin Pardey pays tribute to the full spectrum of life in Bull Canyon--the grueling and glorious, the exasperating and the extraordinary, the frustrating and the fantastic, and everything in between. Bull Canyon charms with its humor, candor, and delicious descriptions of the eclectic assortment of neighbors who were as eager to help these seemingly-hapless newcomers as they were to gossip and, on occasion, cause trouble.

But Bull Canyon also reveals a journey that would prove daunting, gritty, and at times, dangerous--a tougher bargain than Lin and Larry had signed up for. Navigating the uncertain terrain of Bull Canyon would be far more challenging than navigating the seas that had been their home, and working side-by-side, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week would test their marriage. But in the end, Bull Canyon was a place where dreams could come true, where Lin and Larry tapped into the affirming core of their marriage, accomplished back-breaking physical feats and learned to love the magical yet challenging environment.

Part memoir, part adventure tale, part love story, Bull Canyon, at its heart, is a story about determination, hope, love, and the power of the human spirit. In the tradition of Under the Tuscan Sun and A Year in Provence, Bull Canyon is a mesmerizing story destined to join the canon of great tales of homesteading. A vibrant tale that almost reads like a novel, Bull Canyon captures the spirit of two dreamers and schemers who took life by the horns--and lived to tell the glorious tale.

Lin Pardey is the author of eleven books. She and her husband Larry have sailed more than 200,000 miles and received some of sailing's most prestigious awards. The Pardeys have also created several instructional videos on offshore voyaging. They make New Zealand their home base, but spend part of each year cruising on board their engine-free 29-foot sailboat Taleisin. Visit Lin Pardey online at: http://www.linpardey.com. Paradise Cay Publications is an independent publisher headquartered in California. Members of the news media wishing to request additional information or an advance review copy of Bull Canyon by Lin Pardey are kindly asked to contact Maryglenn McCombs by phone--(615) 297-9875.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

MARYGLENN MCCOMBS
Visit website