The 3rd Annual Shorty Awards Announce Twitter Finalists and Category Sponsors

Share Article

The fate of the Shorty Awards finalists in each of the 30 official categories is now in the hands of the Real-Time Academy. The winners will be announced on March 28th, 2011 at the TimesCenter in New York City.

“Oscars of Twitter and Social Media” narrows down Twitter users in 30 categories

Over 750,000 nominations have been tweeted for The Shorty Awards to determine the 6 finalists in each of the 30 official categories. The winners will be announced on March 28th, 2011 at The TimesCenter in The New York Times Building. To learn out more about the awards, vote, or purchase tickets, visit http://www.shortyawards.com.

The Shorty Awards have partnered with sponsors including PepsiCo for the Innovation and Green categories, the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation for the Journalist category and Nokia for the Connecting People Award.

Some notable finalists include Emmy award-winning actor Neil Patrick Harris @ActuallyNPH, Author J K Rowling @jk_rowling, American Music award-winning recording artist Justin Bieber @justinbieber, President Barack Obama @BarackObama, NASA @NASA, Sesame Street @sesamestreet, Grammy award-winning recording artist Britney Spears @britneyspears and Super Bowl 44 champs, The New Orleans Saints @Official_Saints.

"The finalists for the 3rd annual Shorty Awards prove that social media has matured as the main platform for celebrities and influencers alike to connect in short-form with their fans, followers and constituents,” said Gregory Galant, the CEO of Sawhorse Media, which created The Shorty Awards.

Categories still accepting nominations include Real-Time Photo of the Year, Foursquare Mayor of the Year, Foursquare Location of the Year, Microblog of the Year on Tumblr and the Connecting People Award sponsored by Nokia. In addition, late entries for the Shorty Industry Awards, Honoring the Industry's Best Agencies and Social Media Leaders, will be accepted through February 25th, 2011.

The Real-Time Academy of Short Form Arts & Sciences, comprised of leaders in technology, journalism, business and culture, will determine the winners from among the finalists:

Actor: Nathan Fillion @NathanFillion, Ian Somerhalder @iansomerhalder, Munro Chambers @The_Munro, Misha Collins @mishacollins, Neil Patrick Harris @ActuallyNPH, Chris Colfer @chriscolfer

Actress: Angel Locsin @143redangel, Stana Katic @Stana_Katic, Nina Dobrev @ninadobrev, Zendaya Coleman @Zendaya96, Erin Sanders @ErinZariah, Rachel Hershorn @rachelhershorn

Apps: COLOURlovers @colourlovers, Who Unfollowed Me @whounfollowedme, Twaitter @Twaitter, Agency News Network @annDigest, Codeorama @Codeorama, mr. unfollowr @unfollowr

Art: Project DOG @ProjectDOG, Lar deSouza @lartist, Alice Arnold @alicearnold1, One Stop Poetry @Onestoppoetry, Alfonso Mtz Campos @Ponchote, Andrew Wheeler @automotophoto

Author: Dewa Klasik Alexander @KamarSolusi, Shawn S. @TreatWomenRight, John Green @realjohngreen, Sergio E. Avilés @seraviles, J K Rowling @jk_rowling, Kyell Gold @KyellGold

Celebrity: Kim jae joong @mjjeje, Justin Bieber @justinbieber, @Heedictator, Niall Horan @NiallOfficial, Selena Gomez @selenagomez, Jay Bum Park @JAYBUMAOM

Charity: The Trevor Project @TrevorProject, Justin Bieber @justinbieber, Echelon House @TheEchelonHouse, PSU Dance Marathon @THON, CharLaurEmSydCas @BiebsmeetHayley, To Write Love on Her Arms @TWLOHA

Cultural Institution: Culture Vulturess @culturevultures, Tyneside Cinema @tynesidecinema, Liverpool FC LFC @LFCTV, Science Gallery @ScienceGallery, IndieInk @indieink, RB quotes @RonnieBquotes

Customer Service: Zain Jordan @ZainJo, Research In Motion @BlackBerryHelp, SquareTrade @SquareTrade, Media Temple @mediatemple, Xbox Support @XboxSupport, Zappos.com @Zappos_Service

Design: Falcão @brega_falcao, Codeorama @Codeorama, Justin Bieber Fan @JBieberBoy94, Gleidson Gouvêa @gleidsons, Kathleen DeCosmo @katiesheadesign, Shawn S. @TreatWomenRight

Entertainment: 6002 @6002theMicky, Greg F. @iRespectFemales, Barney Stinson @Broslife, Teen Things @TeenThings, Soshified @soshified, Toby Turner @TobyTurner

Fashion: Harry styles @Harry_Styles, Caitlin Beadles @godsgirl8494, Kim jae joong @mjjeje, Nataly @natalyestefania, Ann Li @thisisAnnLi, Ivete Sangalo @ivetesangalo

Finance: The Dave Ramsey Show @ramseyshow, Ashraf Laidi @alaidi, George Dagher @DagherGeorge, Slow Money @SlowMoney, Penny Golightly @PennyGolightly, BitterWallet @bitterwallet

Food: Epic Meal Time @EpicMealTime, BieberBucks Coffee @Bieberbucks, Luiz Caropreso @luizcaro, Bitchin’ Kitchen @bitchinkitchen, Ruth Bourdain @RuthBourdain, Jamur Kriuk Eyang @JamurKriukEyang

Gaming: Adam Montoya @SeaNanners, Sean Plott @day9tv, Totalbiscuit @Totalbiscuit, The Sims 3 @TheSims3, ExtraCreditTeam @ExtraCreditz, Mike Husky @HuskyStarcraft

Government: John Moore @JohnFMoore, Barack Obama @BarackObama, Vilassar de Mar @vilassardemar, Cory Booker @CoryBooker, Eric Cantor @GOPLeader, Lord Credo @Lord_Credo

Green: Waylon Lewis @elephantjournal, Mud Baron @Cocoxochitl, Hank Green @hankgreen, Nadya Hutagalung @Nadya_HutaGalng, Pure Natural Diva @PureNaturalDiva, Greenpeace USA @greenpeaceusa

Humor: Louis Tomlinson @Louis_Tomlinson, Christian Beadles @LittlecBeadles, The Dark Lord @Lord_Voldemort7, MR.Jamie @iJever, Epic Tweets @EpicTweets, Hugo Gloss @HugoGloss

Innovation: AD Lane @indywoodFILMS, Rene Silva Santos @Rene_Silva_RJ, Harry styles @Harry_Styles, Vincenzo Scipioni @UnseeingEyes, Frank Adman @FrankAdman, -MIYAVI- @MIYAVI_OFFICIAL

Journalist: Flávio Fachel @flaviofachel, West Wing Report @WestWingReport, William Bonner @realwbonner, Jenni Hogan @jennihogan, Who? What? Why? @fleetstreetfox, Daniel Razon @DanielRazon

Music: One Direction @onedirection, Jonas Brothers @JonasBrothers, Justin Bieber @justinbieber, @0101xiahtic, Britney Spears @britneyspears, Nick Brown @IamNickBrown

News: Lei Seca RJ @LeiSecaRJ, The Young Turks @TheYoungTurks, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution @ajc, Ivete Mania Club @IveteManiaClub, Korean Updates @KoreanUpdates, HipHopDX @HipHopDX

Politics: Dusty Trice @DustyTrice, Marina Silva @silva_marina, Ray Beckerman @RayBeckerman, DC Debbie @DCdebbie, The Bloggess @TheBloggess, Moron Watch @moronwatch

Science: MythBusters @MythBusters, Virtual Astronomer @VirtualAstro, Michio Kaku @MichioKaku, NASA @NASA, Scientific American @sciam, Paolo Nespoli @astro_paolo

Social Media Expert: Shay Carl @shaycarl, Dewa Klasik Alexander @KamarSolusi, Facts About Boys @FactsAboutBoys, @Heedictator, Devon Wordlaw @Darkskin, Karen Civil @KarenCivil

Sports: Empire of the Kop @empireofthekop, Arthur Muhlenberg @urublog, Mister Chip @2010MisterChip, barcastuff @barcastuff, Opta Sports @OptaJoe, New Orleans Saints @Official_Saints

Tech: SoldierKnowsBest @SoldierKnowBest, José Elías @twitteliax, Rosana Hermann @rosana, Jaamit Durrani @jaamit, Hipolito Delgado @hipolitodelgado, Chris Luzader @TechZader

Television: Attack of the Show @aots, Kurt Sutter @sutterink, Brother Eli Soriano @BroEliSoriano, HIMYM Production @himymprod, Psych @Psych_USA, Sesame Street @sesamestreet

Travel: Charles Trippy @CharlesTrippy, Evelyn Hannon @Journeywoman, JD Andrews @earthXplorer, Columbia, SC @columbiasc, I LOVE NEW YORK @I_LOVE_NY, Alex and Luke @alexandluke

Weird: Maureen Johnson @maureenjohnson, Alli Speed @allispeed, Fail Whale @failwhalequotes, OMG, I do this too! @omgidothistoo, Sweaty Ghost Comedy @sweatyghost, Bob Tzu @duhism

About the Shorty Awards
The Shorty Awards honor the best people and organizations on Twitter and social media. Winners are determined by a combination of popular vote and members of the Real-Time Academy of Short Form Arts & Sciences. For more, visit http://www.shortyawards.com.

About Sawhorse Media
Sawhorse Media filters, curates, and makes sense of the real-time web by creating fun, engaging, and useful products. Sawhorse sites include the directory of Twitter people and lists Listorious, the leading destination for journalists on Twitter Muck Rack, and a network of more than a dozen vertical Twitter sites. For more, visit http://www.sawhorsemedia.com.

About the Real-Time Academy of Short Form Arts and Science
The Real-Time Academy of Short Form Arts & Sciences, comprised of leaders in technology, journalism, business and culture, will play a role in choosing the winners from the groups of finalists. The group includes actress and philanthropist Alyssa Milano, Foursquare co-founder and CEO, Dennis Crowley, Craigslist founder, Craig Newmark, actress and designer, Whitney Port, entertainer and entrepreneur, MC Hammer and Wikipedia founder, Jimmy Wales. For more, visit http://www.rtacademy.org.

Media Contact:
Leslie Richin, Low Maintenance PR, (347) 217-4775, leslie(at)lowmaintenancepr(dot)com

###

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Leslie Richin
Low Maintenance PR
(347) 217-4775
Email >
Visit website

Media