International Songwriting Competition (ISC) Announces 2010 Finalists And Semi-Finalists

Share Article

Judges Peter Gabriel, Tom Waits, Rihanna, Kings Of Leon, Train, Ben Harper, McCoy Tyner, Wynonna Keane And Many More To Select Winners

Selecting both the finalists and the semi-finalists was a challenging and daunting task

ISC is proud to announce the 2010 finalists and semi-finalists. This year, ISC received well over 15,000 entries from 115 countries throughout the world, representing all genres of contemporary music. The ISC listening committee narrowed these entries down to 323 finalists in 22 categories. These finalists hail from 33 countries from all corners of the world, from Uruguay to Armenia, from Moldova to Hungary, from Zaire to the Ukraine, and everywhere in between. Reflecting the international scope of the competition, over 58% of all finalists and semi-finalists come from outside the USA. Winners will be selected from the group of finalists by ISC judges Peter Gabriel, Tom Waits, Rihanna, Ben Harper, Kings of Leon, Jeff Beck, McCoy Tyner, and many more.

Winners will be announced in late April, 2011. Prizes include over $150,000 in cash, merchandise, and services - including a Grand Prize of $25,000 cash and $20,000 in additional prizes.

Go to to see the complete list.

The ISC finalists' songs are currently posted on the ISC website as part of the 2010 People's Voice - an online voting contest that allows the public to listen to and vote for their favorite ISC finalist. The winner of the People's Voice is selected solely by public vote and is in addition to, and completely separate from, the regular winners who will be selected by the prestigious ISC judging panel. To listen to the finalists' songs and to cast your vote (you be the judge!), visit:

ISC 2010 was the most competitive of any year in terms of quality of entries. ISC received so many wonderful songs that reflected creativity, diversity, and excellent songwriting craftsmanship, and as a result, it was the most difficult year to select the finalists. "Selecting both the finalists and the semi-finalists was a challenging and daunting task," says Founder and Director Candace Avery. "The competition was so extreme this year, making the status of being selected a finalist or semi-finalist an honor that is elevated and even more prestigious than in past years." Accordingly, there is a record number of finalists and semi-finalists. Congratulations to all these deserving songwriters!

Kasey Chambers, an award-winning, internationally renowned Australian Country/Americana artist, leads the pack this year with seven songs being selected finalists in various categories. This is the first time any artist has ever received so many finalist nods in ISC, and this achievement recognizes the excellence of her songwriting ability. Kasey's glittering career has culminated in multiple ARIA, APRA, and CMAA awards as well as multiple top-selling albums, establishing her as one of the most respected and successful Aussie artists. Go to for the complete list.

The Parlotones (with six entries achieving finalist status), are one of South Africa's most popular and successful groups. Known for their electrifying live performances, they also hold the distinction of having the biggest selling rock album of the last decade in South Africa, having achieved double Platinum status and garnering seven radio singles off this one album alone. They are currently on tour in the USA. Please go to for their tour info.

The complete list of ISC judges includes:

Recording Artists: Peter Gabriel; Rihanna; Kings of Leon; Tom Waits; Ben Harper; Jeff Beck; Kelly Clarkson; Timbaland; Keane; McCoy Tyner; Ben Folds; Train; Robbie Williams; Joe Nichols; Michael W. Smith; John Scofield; Jerry Lee Lewis; Regina Spektor; Alejandro Sanz; Jeremy Camp; Terence Blanchard; Ray Wylie Hubbard; Montel Jordan; John Mayall; Craig Morgan; Jazmine Sullivan; DJ Tiësto; James Cotton; Sandra Bernhard; Robert Earl Keen; Baaba Maal; Wynonna; John Digweed; K'Naan; Adele; Black Francis (The Pixies); Robert Smith (The Cure); Chris Hillman (The Byrds); Darryl McDaniels (Run D.M.C.); Toots Hibbert (Toots & The Maytals); Matt Thiessen (Relient K); Chayanne; and Dan Zanes

Industry Executives: Monte Lipman (President, Universal Republic Records); Amanda Ghost (President, Epic Records); Rick Krim (Exec. VP, Talent & Music Programming, VH1); Brian Malouf (VP A&R, Walt Disney Records); Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records); Angel Carrasco (Sr. VP A&R, Latin America, Sony/BMG); Ric Arboit (President, Nettwerk Music Group); Daniel Glass (Founder/CEO, Glassnote Entertainment Group); Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment); Dr. Demento (Radio Host, The Dr. Demento Show); Steve Lillywhite (Producer); Dan Storper (President, Putamayo World Music Records and Putumayo Kids); Lisa Ramsey Perkins (Sr. Director, A&R Sony Nashville); Kim Buie (VP A&R, Lost Highway); Leib Ostrow (CEO, Music For Little People); and Tommy Morris (Talent Coordinator, The Comedy Store)

ISC sponsors include: Martin Guitar, Berklee College Of Music, Disc Makers, D'Addario, Shure, Westone, Thayers, Onlinegigs, ASCAP,, Grooveshark, TuneCore, Aspen Brownie Works, The Music Business Registry, Independent Mastering, Indie Venue Bible, Tanager, George Stein, Esq., Celebrity Access, Sonicbids, Taxi, music Submit, and Alphabet Arm Design

ISC is now accepting entries for 2011. For more information and an entry form, go to

For more information, contact Candace Avery, Founder/Director at 615.251.4441.

International Songwriting Competition
1307 Eastland Avenue
Nashville, TN 37206
ph: 615.251.4441
fx: 615.251.4442


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print