Chief Marketing Officer of the Year Finalists Named

Share Article

Award to Recognize Senior Marketing Executives for Excellence in Their Field

The Chief Marketing Officer Institute announced today finalists for its Chief Marketing Officer of the Year award. The CMO Institute created the award to recognize Chief Marketing Officers, or executives in an equivalent position, who demonstrated outstanding leadership across various disciplines of the marketing field during the prior year. This year’s finalists include marketers that overcame difficult economic headwinds to produce impressive results in two categories: large organizations (revenue greater than $250 million) and small to mid-size organizations (revenue less than $250 million).

Nominees were evaluated across several categories of performance, including: market orientation and customer intimacy, accountability for results, commitment to innovation, and overall contribution to the success of their company. Based on these measures, this year’s finalists are:

LARGE ORGANIZATIONS ($250 million or more in revenue)
Chris Boorman – Chief Marketing Officer, Informatica Corporation
John Chapman – Chief Marketing Officer, PAETEC
Nigel Dessau – SVP & Chief Marketing Officer, Advanced Micro Devices
Martin Homlish – Global Chief Marketing Officer, SAP
Arun Sinha – Group Chief Marketing Officer, Zurich Financial Services

SMALL TO MID-SIZED ORGANIZATIONS (Less than $250 million in revenue)
Wesley Bolsen – Chief Marketing Officer, Coskata, Inc.
Susan A. Elder – Chief Marketing Officer, American Red Cross of Greater Cleveland
David Rowe – SVP of Global Marketing Alliances, Rimini Street, Inc.
Dan Scott – Chief Marketing Officer, Scott Kay, Inc.
Teri Lucie Thompson – Chief Marketing Officer & VP, Marketing & Media, Purdue University

A distinguished panel of judges will determine the CMO of the Year in each category based on detailed information about the nominees' achievements. This year’s judges include:

David Aardsma – Senior Vice President, Sales & Marketing, Waste Management, Inc.
Joan Chow – EVP & Chief Marketing Officer, ConAgra Foods
Dennis Dunlap – Chief Executive Officer, American Marketing Association
Peter N. Golder – Professor of Marketing, Tuck School of Business, Dartmouth College
Philip Kotler – Professor of Marketing, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University
Lesya Lysyj – SVP & Chief Marketing Officer, Heineken USA
Catherine Sadler – SVP & Chief Marketing Officer, Banana Republic

Recipients of the 2010 CMO of the Year Award will be announced during the second week of May. Leading up to the announcement, general updates will be provided via The CMO Institute website, along with postings on Twitter ( and through the CMO Institute LinkedIn Group. Additionally, exclusive interviews with each finalist – in which they discuss the strategies and tactics they employed to achieve their success – will be featured on, a partner of The CMO Institute. Individuals selected to receive the award will also be showcased in a future volume of The CMO Journal, published by The Chief Marketing Officer Institute.

About the Chief Marketing Officer Institute
Headquartered in Atlanta, The Chief Marketing Officer Institute is an industry association dedicated to serving as the premier resource for researchers and practitioners interested in the role and leadership challenges facing the CMO and other marketing executives. To learn more about The CMO Institute, access its online research library, and/or register for special announcements related to future volumes of The CMO Journal, please visit

About the Chief Marketing Officer Journal
The CMO Journal was created to help accelerate the pace of theory development and critical discussion concerning executive leadership within the marketing discipline. It is published bi-annually by The Chief Marketing Officer Institute and distributed exclusively by the American Marketing Association. Submissions are peer reviewed by a distinguished panel of experts and selected for inclusion in the journal based on the importance of their contribution to marketing discipline, clarity, and suitability. To learn more about The CMO Journal, please visit


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Elizabeth Smith
Visit website