3rd Quarter Winners Announced in International Writers of the Future Contest

Share Article

Aerospace Engineer from London Takes Home the First Place Prize this Quarter

The 3rd Quarter winners of the 28th year of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest were announced today by Joni Labaqui, the contest Director from Author Services, Inc.

Third Quarter Winners:            

1st Place - William Mitchell of London, England        
2nd Place -M.O. Muriel of Texas
3rd Place - Jacob A. Boyd of Oregon         

William is an aerospace engineer , M.O. Muriel is a U.S. military officer spouse and Jacob is a web engineer. All three have entered the contest multiple times in the past. "Part of writing and part of winning is persisting," Labaqui said.

They were chosen from a group of 8 finalists and are awarded cash prizes, a week long intensive workshop, an awards ceremony and are also published in the annual L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future. William, M.O. and Jacob will receive a cash prize for their win this quarter.

A Grand Prize winner is announced at the annual awards ceremony and is selected by another panel of judges for the prize purse of $5,000.00.

Well-known contest judges include multiple Nebula and Hugo Award winners and finalists such as Kevin J. Anderson, Orson Scott Card, Anne McCaffrey, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Robert J. Sawyer, Robert Silverberg, Dave Wolverton, Sean Williams and K.D. Wentworth.

"The judges have no idea who wrote the stories they are reading. The name of the author is not included on the manuscript which makes for fair judging. It is one of many reasons the contest is so popular with writers trying to make their mark. They know they have a fair chance,” concluded Labaqui.

For more information about the contest, go to http://www.writersofthefuture.com.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui

Email >