Finalists Announced for Second Annual Colorado Cleantech Industry Awards Celebration Honoring Leadership in Advancing Cleantech

Share Article

Twenty Colorado Companies Emerge as Making Significant Impact on Statewide Cleantech Job Creation and Financing

The Colorado Cleantech Industry Association (CCIA) named 20 finalists for its second annual "Colorado Cleantech Industry Awards Celebration," honoring leadership in advancing cleantech job creation and financial and technical viability.

Winners will be announced Nov. 7 at 5 p.m. during the organization’s annual dinner gala. Kevin Skillern, managing director of GE Energy Financial Services venture capital team, is the keynote speaker for the event. Skillern’s keynote will cover "Stories from a Leading Energy Technology Venture Capitalist." In addition to his work with GE Energy Financial Services, Skillern leads the investment activities for Energy Technology Ventures, a joint venture formed by GE, NRG Energy, Inc. and ConocoPhillips.

The 20 finalists were selected by a group of industry peers ranging from venture capitalists and corporate strategists to current and former technology CEOs. The winners will be selected based on the company’s ability to create an innovative clean technology that has a viable market strategy, the executive team’s ability to raise funding to support the technology and the company’s statewide job creation.

“These companies represent the economic engine for Colorado’s growing clean technology sector,” said Christine Shapard, executive director of the CCIA. “The fact that we received more than 50 applications for these awards signifies Colorado has a vibrant cleantech sector dedicated to advancing clean technology innovation and enhancing Colorado’s competitiveness nationally and internationally.”

CCIA – Leadership in Advancing Cleantech Awards Finalists Are:
High‐Impact Cleantech Company of the Year
Gevo (Englewood) –
RES Americas (Broomfield) –
Vestas (Windsor) –

Breakout Cleantech Company of the Year
Boulder Wind Power (Boulder) –
OPX Biotechnologies(Boulder) –
TerraLUX (Longmont) –

Emerging Cleantech Company of the Year
Boulder Ionics (Arvada) –
Prieto Battery (Fort Collins) –
RavenBrick (Denver) –

Colorado Cleantech Entrepreneur of the Year
Jeff Bisberg, Albeo (Boulder) –
Tim Reeser, CSU Ventures and Aravaipa Ventures (Fort Collins) –
Adrian Tuck, Tendril (Boulder) –‐team

National Cleantech Leadership
Rocky Mountain CleanTech Open –
Colorado Renewable Energy Collaboratory –
National Renewable Energy Laboratory –

Governor's Award for Excellence in Cleantech Leadership
Paul Nelson, Clean Range Ventures) –
Dick Franklin, Rocky Mountain CleanTech Open –
Stephen Miller, CleanLaunch –

Cleantech Champion
Fort Collins Utilities –
GE –

The Colorado Cleantech Award Celebration will be held Nov. 7 from 5-8 p.m. at the Grand Hyatt in Denver. The event is sold out. For more information, visit:

About CCIA
The Colorado Cleantech Industry Association represents the interests of the state’s cleantech industry. Its mission is to further establish Colorado as a world leader in clean technology by providing representation and advocacy, a unified voice, relevant programming and capacity development. For more information, visit

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Shelly Curtiss
Email >
Visit website