NewSchool of Architecture and Design Reaccredited for Full Six-Year Term by National Architectural Accrediting Board

Share Article

President of NSAD calls reaccreditation “confirmation of NSAD’s strong, quality professional architecture program”

NewSchool of Architecture and Design (NSAD) announced it has been reaccredited for a full six-year term of accreditation by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) for its Bachelor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs. The reaccreditation follows a rigorous review of NSAD’s curriculum and education program.

“Reaccreditation of NSAD is confirmation of our school’s strong, quality professional architecture program,” said Dr. Steve Altman, president of NSAD.
Architectural accreditation signifies that an institution or program meets NAAB standards for its faculty, curriculum and student services. Obtaining a degree from a NAAB-accredited program is essential preparation for a professional architecture career. Most state registration boards in the United States require that applicants graduate from a NAAB-accredited program.
“This news is extremely positive and attests to the fine work so many members of the faculty and staff have done to build a strong professional program,” said Dr. Altman. “Our energetic pursuit of excellence and quality continues throughout our programs.”

About NewSchool of Architecture and Design
NewSchool of Architecture and Design (NSAD), founded in 1980, is accredited by the Accrediting Council for Independent Colleges and Schools (ACICS). ACICS is listed as a nationally recognized accrediting agency by the U.S. Department of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation. NSAD offers bachelor’s and master’s degrees in architecture, as well as a Bachelor of Science in Digital Media Arts, a Bachelor of Science in Construction Management and a Master of Landscape Architecture. For more information, visit

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted a 6-year, 3-year, or 2-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards. Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may consist of a pre-professional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education. However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

NewSchool of Architecture and Design offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:
B. Arch. (235 quarter undergraduate credits)
M. Arch. (pre-professional degree + 90 quarter graduate credits)
M. Arch. (non-pre-professional degree + 135 quarter credits)
M. Arch. (license +pre-professional degree + 45 quarter credits)
Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2016

Media Contact:
Maria Alexandra Velez
Tel. (619) 200-3833
Cell. (443) 509-5793


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print