Mystery Novelist, Area Native Barbara Levenson to Appear in Columbus, Ohio

Share Article

Levenson will sign copies of her latest books, Fatal February and Justice in June during the Ohioana Book Festival on Saturday, May 7, 2011

Mystery novelist and area native Barbara Levenson will appear the Ohioana Book Festival (Fort Hayes Educational Center, 546 Jack Gibbs Boulevard Columbus, Ohio 43215) on Saturday, May 7, 2011. In addition to appearing on a panel, “Thrillers, Murders, Mystery and Suspense” at 11:30 AM, Levenson will appear for a reading at 2:00 PM where she will read from, autograph and discuss her most recent novels, Fatal February and Justice in June.

Raised in Columbus, Ohio, Levenson was the first woman elected to the Columbus Board of Education, and later served as the Board’s first female president. Barbara was also the first woman to be named the Ohio Newspaper’s “Man of the Year.”

A longtime Miami judge, Levenson is author of the Mary Magruder Katz mystery series. Levenson’s novels, Fatal February (Oceanview Publishing, ISBN: 978-1-933515-52-6, Hardcover, $22.95) and Justice in June (ISBN: 978‐1‐933515‐71-7, Hardcover, $24.95) feature the fun, fearless, and oh-so-feisty Mary Magruder Katz, a half-Jewish, half-Southern Baptist criminal defense attorney who has a knack for getting in way over her head.

Hailed as “John Grisham in spiked heels,” the Mary Magruder Katz series has earned high critical acclaim, including:

“Excellent.” —I Love a Mystery

“Engrossing.” – Reviewing the Evidence

“Lighthearted and frothy fun.” – The Deseret News

“A winning combination of mystery and legal intrigue.”     —The Free-Lance Star

“Full of humor and joie de vivre.” —Library Journal

“A quick, fun read. Readers are sure to want more.” —Daytona Beach News-Journal

“Fans of Stephanie Plum and Kinsey Millhone will find a new author to love.” –Review the Book

Barbara Levenson has resided in Miami, Florida, for the past 35 years. A cum laude graduate of the University of Miami Law School, Barbara has served as a prosecutor, and run her own law practice where she focused on criminal defense and civil rights litigation. Barbara was elected to a judgeship in the circuit court of Miami-Dade County where she still serves as a senior judge. Barbara and her husband bred and showed German Shepherd Dogs for 20 years and finished 11 champions in the show ring.

Both published by Oceanview Publishing, one of the country’s leading independent mystery/thriller/suspense publishers, Fatal February and Justice in June are available nationwide.

For more information, please contact Maryglenn McCombs by phone—(615) 297-9875, or by email— maryglenn(at)maryglenn(dot)com.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Maryglenn Mccombs
MM BOOK PUBLICITY
(615) 297-9875
Email >
Visit website