Certes Networks Undergoes Rigorous Common Criteria Evaluation Process

Share Article

Obtaining Highest Security Assurance Level allows Government Agencies to take advantage of group encryption benefits.

“Supporting government security requirements is a key component of our overall market strategy,” said Thomas Gill, CEO of Certes Networks.

Certes Networks, the leader in scalable network encryption, is pleased to announce that their ground breaking multi-layer group encryption solution is officially in evaluation for a Common Criteria EAL4+ certification. This certification will allow U.S. government agencies to take advantage of Certes Networks’ unique multi-layer, tunnel-less encryption solutions to meet their security and compliance needs without sacrificing network performance or visibility.

“In addition to the increased network security required for individual government networks, the nature of today’s national and cyber security threats have increased the need for secure collaboration between agencies and organizations,” said retired Vice Admiral Jerry O. Tuttle, a highly distinguished Navy officer and acknowledged IT technology visionary. “Certes Networks’ ability to quickly create Secure Enclaves and Communities of Interest without impacting network performance is a welcome advance in secure network communications.” Admiral Tuttle went on to say, “Backed by a Common Criteria certification, all government agencies will be able to take advantage of the Certes Networks solutions.”

Common Criteria is an internationally recognized set of guidelines (ISO 15408), that define a common framework for evaluating security features and capabilities of Information Technology security products. The standard consists of several predetermined evaluation assurance levels, each one more stringent than the last. Common Criteria allows vendors to have their products tested against a chosen level by an independent third-party testing laboratory. The Common Criteria Mutual Recognition Agreement (CCRA) is a pact that is designed to allow all evaluations up to an evaluation assurance level (EAL) 4 to be recognized by all participating countries, regardless of where the evaluation was completed. There are currently 26 countries involved in the CCRA, including the United States and Canadian governments, with others that follow unofficially such as the European Union (EU).

Common Criteria certification of security products is mandated by the U.S. government for federal purchases. The National Information Assurance Acquisition Policy, NSTISSP No. 11, requires agencies to purchase only those commercial security products that have met specified third-party assurance requirements and have been tested by an accredited national laboratory.

“Supporting government security requirements is a key component of our overall market strategy,” said Thomas Gill, CEO of Certes Networks. “Our pursuit of the Common Criteria certification will allow us to better support the government sector and will allow U.S. and other government agencies to use the CipherEngine solution to meet their security and communication requirements.”

In order to facilitate the prompt completion of the Common Criteria evaluation process, Certes Networks has partnered with Corsec Security, a consulting firm with more than thirteen years of validation experience.

About Certes Networks
Certes Networks is the leader in developing scalable security solutions for high performance networks. We provide advanced encryption and policy and key management solutions for securing wide area networks, and enable secure connectivity to private and public clouds. Certes Networks helps organizations improve security, decrease risk, and reduce the cost of compliance while enabling high performance and secure connectivity to critical infrastructures.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Brian Irish
Visit website