James Rooney of Knoxville Becomes ASQ 2012 Chair Office of the President Becomes Executive Council

Share Article

ASQ announces 2012 Officers. Incoming Chair is James Rooney, ABSG Consulting, Knoxville, Tenn.

James Rooney, ASQ 2012 Chair

“The focus of this project is innovation in sections and divisions…These initial local experiments will teach us how to make ASQ’s future come alive in the present,” said James Rooney, ASQ Chair.

ASQ announced the following slate of officers for the 2012 term, which includes newly created titles as part of ASQ’s Governance Improvements plan:

  • Past Chair – E. David Spong, Boeing Company (retired), Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif.
  • Chair– James J. Rooney, ABSG Consulting, Knoxville, Tenn.
  • Chair-Elect – John Timmerman, Marriott International, Inc., Sterling, Va.
  • Treasurer – William B. (Bo) McBee, Hewlett-Packard Company, Houston, Texas
  • Newly Elected Board Member – Joanne D. Mayo, Nortel, Cary, N.C.
  • Newly Elected Board Member – Kathleen Goonan Jennison, M.D., Goonan Performance Strategies, Northborough, Mass.

The results were announced at ASQ’s Annual Business Meeting, held in conjunction with the World Conference on Quality and Improvement, May 15, in Pittsburgh, Pa. Current ASQ President E. David Spong will become Past Chair effective July 1, 2011, and James R. Rooney, who is currently chair-elect, will move into the chair position.

Due to ASQ’s fiscal year change to a calendar fiscal year, the new officers will serve an 18-month term, July 1, 2011 – December 31, 2012.

ASQ Governance Improvements – New Executive Council

During his term, ASQ’s 2010-11 Chair, David Spong, focused on driving ASQ to a simpler, more effective governance model, resulting in a renaming of the Office of the President, among other actions. The model works to define the responsibility, accountability, and authority of the Executive Director, the President, the Chairman, the Office of the President, the board and the Office of the President structure, job titles, and job descriptions. On May 15, 2011, the ASQ membership approved changes to the current body of governance. Effective immediately, the new titles are:

  • The Office of the President becomes the Executive Council
  • The President-elect becomes Chair-Elect
  • President becomes Chair
  • When the President fulfills his term, he then becomes Past Chair
  • Executive Director becomes Chief Executive Officer (effective November 2010)

James Rooney’s Vision

One of James Rooney’s focal points during his term as ASQ Chair will be to build upon the new governance model successes championed by 2010-11 Chair David Spong.

“David Spong has led a very successful initiative on ASQ governance during the past year,” said Rooney, during his official inaugural address at ASQ’s Annual Business Meeting. ”One outgrowth of that initiative is a project called Enhancing Member Value in the 21st Century. The focus of this project is innovation in sections and divisions. The project has launched with great enthusiasm. My pledge to you is that we will see the innovations through to completion. These initial local experiments will teach us how to make ASQ’s future come alive in the present.”

James J. Rooney has more than 30 years of quality management experience. For more than 10 years, Rooney has been the director of Department of Energy Programs and the director of Quality Management and Lean Six Sigma Services at ABSG Consulting. His areas of expertise include process safety, risk management, quality, auditing, and risk assessment. Rooney has been a member of ASQ for more than 25 years and is an ASQ Fellow. As well as serving on the board of directors, he is the recertification chair for the Knoxville, Tenn., section.

About ASQ

ASQ is a global community of people dedicated to quality who share the ideas and tools that make our world work better. With millions of individual and organizational members of the community in 150 countries, ASQ has the reputation and reach to bring together the diverse quality champions who are transforming the world’s corporations, organizations and communities to meet tomorrow’s critical challenges. ASQ is headquartered in Milwaukee, Wis., with national service centers in China, India and Mexico. Learn more about ASQ’s members, mission, technologies and training at http://www.asq.org

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Lynda Nicely
414.298.8789 7587
Email >