More Literary Honors for Steven Mayfield

Share Article

Howling at the Moon has been shortlisted by the New York Book Festival in the Fiction category and listed as a Finalist in the Eric Hoffer competition, bringing to five the total number of awards garnered by the 2010 release.

Mount Parnassus Press announces that Howling at the Moon, a collection of short fiction by Steven Mayfield, is among the award winners announced on June 2, 2011 by the New York Book Festival (NYBF). The book was previously recognized by the New England and San Francisco Book Festivals and was a Finalist for both the Best Books of 2010 (sponsored by USA Book News) and the Eric Hoffer Award, the latter announcement made on May 26, 2011. Mayfield will be among the authors to be honored at a NYBF reception scheduled for June 10, 2011 at the legendary Algonquin Hotel in New York City.

Howling at the Moon was released in 2010 and has received unanimous critical acclaim:

“A superbly wrought set of tales as beguiling as a midnight serenade,” raved Kirkus Discoveries.

From the U.S. Review of Books: “The common themes of the tales of Howling at the Moon seem to be human vulnerability and, ironically, the power that vulnerability can unleash . . . Mayfield shines especially in the stories about marriage.”

“Mayfield brings a magnificent range of both emotion and intellect to these stories.” — Barbara Herrick; author of The Blackberry Tea Club

“Great book, great stories! Don’t loan this book to your friends because you will never get it back!" — Simon Barrett, Blogger News Network

About the book: With four new versions of previously published stories and five new offerings, Steven Mayfield’s book begins with “Food Chain” when an innocent motorist is comically ensnared in an inescapable web masquerading as a Manhattan traffic jam. “Reliquary” examines a life perhaps not worth living and the man who selfishly sustains it, while in the title story a surviving son stubbornly clings to adolescent rebellion even as his mother lies in her casket. “The Next One” introduces Rose Summerville, a new schoolteacher in the American South of the 1960s, caught up in a social current as relentless as the mighty Mississippi River. The book closes with the whimsical and provocative “Which Way’s Ireland?” where the nature of true courage is seen through the eyes of a boy after he spots a mysterious airplane emerging from an overcast sky in the autumn of 1927. Other titles in the collection are “Hallway Sex,” “Mothers,” "MOMCON" and “All in a Row.”

The book is 146 pages, 6 x9 cream paper and available in both softcover (SRP $12.95) and hardcover (SRP $25.95) formats. U.S. wholesale distribution is through Ingram or Baker & Taylor with online availability through Mount Parnassus Press, Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Outskirts Press.

ISBN Softcover 978-9753314-0-8
ISBNHardcover 978-9753314-1-5

For more information or to contact the author, visit

About the author: Steven Mayfield, a past recipient of the Mari Sandoz Prize for Fiction, is the author of numerous stories, articles and reviews and was the 1998 editor of the literary journal, Cabin Fever. He holds bachelor’s and doctoral degrees from the University of Nebraska , received post-doctoral training at the University of Iowa and Brown University and was on the faculty of the University of Texas Southwestern School of Medicine before settling in Boise, Idaho, where he practiced medicine until turning full-time to writing in 2004. He and his wife, Pam, currently live in San Francisco.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Steven Mayfield

Email >
Visit website