First Yearly Winners Announced in International Writers of The Future Contest

Share Article

1st Quarter Winners start the writing contest year and Volume 28 of L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future.

The 1st Quarter winners of the 28th year of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest were announced today. "The finalist stories were exceptionally good this quarter", writing contest coordinating judge, K.D. Wentworth said.


Marie Croke 1st Place - from Maryland
Gerald Warfield 2nd Place - from Texas
Harry Lang 3rd Place - from Pennsylvania

They were chosen from a group of 8 finalists and are now awarded cash prizes, a week long intensive workshop, an awards ceremony and are also published in the annual L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future. Marie, Gerald and Harry will receive a cash prize for their win this quarter.

Marie recently quit her job to write, while also being a mother. Gerald is a full time writer now, after retiring from the music scene in New York City. Harry is an electrical designer for Boeing. All three have entered the contest several times.    

Writing contest judges include, Tim Powers, author of On Stranger Tides, Kevin J. Anderson and Brian Herbert, Dune, Anne McCaffrey the Dragons of Pern series, Robert J. Sawyer Flash Forward, Robert Silverberg, Sailing to Byzantium, Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle, A Mote in God's Eye, and Orson Scott Card, The Abyss, to name a few.

Jerry Pournelle had this to say about the stories this quarter: "I'm astonished at how good several of these stories are. Enjoyed reading them."

Literary legend L. Ron Hubbard started the contest in 1984 to help new writers get a leg up in a very competitive field. The contest has launched the careers of hundreds of authors and 8 New York Times bestsellers.

For more information about the contest, go to
On the home page click on “contest rules.”


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui
Visit website