InterGalactic Medicine Show Is an All Writers of the Future Contest Winners Issue on June 8

Share Article

June 8 issue to feature five "Writers of the Future" winners: four from Volume XXI and one winner from Volume XXVII

I wouldn’t be surprised if this turns out to be some kind of record.

June 8th of this year marks an InterGalactic record breaking day. After appearing in L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future five winners have stories published in the same issue of Orson Scott Card's InterGalactic Medicine Show (IGMS), a leading webzine of science fiction and fantasy.

Founded by multiple-award winning author (and Writers of the Future judge) Orson Scott Card, and edited for the past five years by Edmund R. Schubert, IGMS is a bimonthly online magazine publishing illustrated science fiction and fantasy short stories, audio stories, interviews, reviews and more. Authors range from established pros like Peter Beagle and David Farland (also a Writers of the Future winner from Volume III), to first-time authors making their professional debut.
Recent Nebula-winner Eric James Stone, Scott Roberts, Lon Prater, and Mike Rimar each a 2005 winner of the ongoing Writers of the Future contest—were notified separately this year that the short stories they had submitted to IGMS would appear together in the June 8 issue of the award-winning webzine. In April Jeffrey Lyman who was published in the most recent Writers of the Future volume (XXVII) was notified that he would be published in the magazine.

"It's not unusual for IGMS to publish winners of the Writers of the Future contest," fiction editor Edmund Schubert stated. "We regularly receive outstanding submissions from prior winners. What's really odd is publishing so many from the same year in one issue. I wouldn’t be surprised if this turns out to be some kind of record." It is a record according to the Writers of the Future contest director, Joni Labaqui. "Five former winners in the same publication has never happened before. We often see 3 former winners or even 4 (winners from different years) in the same anthology, but to have 4 from the same year is incredible, and then for the 5th to be a winner from the most recent volume is even more incredible."

All five writers credit L. Ron Hubbard’s Writers of the Future contest with fulfilling its mission of finding the next generation of science fiction and fantasy writers and giving their careers the extra momentum needed to continue writing and selling regularly.

Lon Prater is a retired Navy officer and writer of odd little tales. In addition to over 40 stories published in places as diverse as Writers of the Future XXI and the Stoker-winning anthology Borderlands 5, he recently released a short mashup novel direct to ebook satirizing Atlas Shrugged.

Mike Rimar has been published in Writers of the Future XXI, Orson Scott Card's Intergalactic Medicine Show, online ezines and other anthologies as well as the upcoming (Sept. 2011) Tesseracts Fifteen: A Case of Quite Curious Tales.

Scott M. Roberts writes science fiction, fantasy, and horror. His work has appeared in Writers of the Future, Orson Scott Card's InterGalactic Medicine Show, and in the anthology Monsters and Mormons. In his down-time, he is an information system security analyst and technical writer. Scott lives in northern Virginia with his family.

A Nebula Award winner and Hugo Award nominee, Eric James Stone has had stories published in Writers of the Future XXI, Year's Best SF 15, Analog, Nature, and Kevin J. Anderson's Blood Lite anthologies of humorous horror, among other venues. Eric lives in Utah, where he works as a website developer.

Jeffrey Lyman, is a mechanical engineer living in New York and has published in Writers of the Future XXVII with his story in IGMS being his second professional sale.

FOR MORE INFORMATION: The Writers of the Future writing contest ( was initiated by L. Ron Hubbard in 1983 to provide a means for aspiring writers to get that much-needed break. Due to the success of the Writing Contest, the companion Illustrators of the Future Contest was created in 1988. This year marks the Centennial anniversary (1911-2011) for Mr. Hubbard who was hailed by Publishers Weekly as, “one of the greatest literary figures of the 20th century.”

The intensive mentoring process has proven very successful. Past winners of the Writing Contest have published over 700 novels, 3,000 short stories and winners of the Illustrating Contest have had their art published in more than 500 books and magazines, with 4,500 illustrations, 350 comics and over 1.3 million art prints.

To see the most recent awards ceremony, go to

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

John Goodwin
Galaxy Press
(323) 466-7815
Email >
Visit website