Affirmative Action Association Announces Nominees for Civil Rights and Diversity Awards

Share Article

American Association for Affirmative Action will also honor women of the Civil Rights Movement at its annual Access, Equity and Diversity Summit, June 30, 2011 in Atlantic City

Rosa Parks, Cesar Chavez, Edward M. Kennedy and Arthur Fletcher are among the civil rights luminaries being remembered by the American Association for Affirmative Action (AAAA) when it awards individuals and organizations whose work has helped to advance the rights of all. On June 30, 2011 the awards ceremony will take place at the Atlantic City Convention Center, 1 Convention Blvd., Atlantic City, New Jersey. This year, AAAA will co-host the program with the New Jersey Affirmative Action Officers’ Council. The theme of this year’s conference is “EEO and Diversity: A Strong and Prosperous Nation Secured through a Fair and Inclusive Workplace.”

Nominees for the prestigious awards include: William H. Brown, III, Esq., attorney and former Chairman of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, for the Arthur A. Fletcher Lifetime Achievement Award; Service Members Legal Defense Network, the Ivy Planning Group and Luke Visconti, President and Founder, DiversityInc., for the Champion of Diversity Award; Nadine Vogel, Founder and President of Springboard Consulting, and LGBT Rights Advocate Dan Savage and “The It Gets Better Project,” for the Edward M. Kennedy Community Service Award; Dr. Lisa McBride, Special Assistant to the President for EEO/University Ombudsperson at California University of Pennsylvania, and Wanda E. Sloan, M.S., Diversity and Staff Development Specialist, Blackhawk Technical College, for the Rosa Parks Award; and Jose D. Alcántara, president of the NAACP of Pleasantville, N.J., for the Cesar Estrada Chavez Award. Flonzie Brown Wright has been nominated to receive the Drum Major for Justice Award in honor of her years of service and to acknowledge the Women, “She-roes” of the Civil Rights Movement, including the 50th Anniversary of the Freedom Rides.

Founded in 1974, the American Association for Affirmative Action (AAAA) is a national not-for-profit association of professionals working in the areas of affirmative action, equal opportunity, and diversity. AAAA assists its members to be more successful and productive in their careers. It also promotes understanding and advocacy of affirmative action to enhance access and equality in employment, economic and educational opportunities.

“We are pleased to honor these nominees for their hard work and sustained commitment to equal opportunity and inclusion,” said AAAA President Gregory T. Chambers. “We wish to thank all of the individuals who nominated this impressive group of champions for access, equity and diversity,” added ReNeé S. Dunman, Immediate Past President and Awards Committee Chairperson. At the Awards Luncheon the New Jersey Affirmative Action Officers’ Council will confer the Paul Morris Smith Scholarship, an annual award for a deserving student.

The Awards Ceremony will take place at the Atlantic City Convention Center, 1 Convention Boulevard, Atlantic City, New Jersey, 08401, on June 30, 2011, at noon. The press is invited. For more information about the AAAA Awards, go to:

To register for the Summit or to obtain tickets to the Awards luncheon, go to:
American Association for Affirmative Action
888 16th Street, NW
Suite 800
Washington, DC 20006


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

(202) 349-9855
Email >
Visit website