Winners Announced in International Writers Of The Future Contest

Share Article

2nd Quarter Winners, to be Published in Volume 28 of L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future are from the US and Australia

The 2nd Quarter winners of the 28th year of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest were announced today.


William Ledbetter 1st Place - from Texas
Nicholas Tchan 2nd Place - from Sydney, Australia
Corry L. Lee 3rd Place - from Washington

They were chosen from a group of eight finalists and are now awarded cash prizes, a week long intensive workshop, an awards ceremony and are also published in the annual L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future.

William is a mechanical engineer, Nicholas is an educator and Corry just received her Ph.D in Physics in May of this year.

They will be judged a second time, along with the winners from the other quarters for the Grand Prize of $5,000.00.

Contest judges include, Tim Powers, author of On Stranger Tides, Kevin J. Anderson and Brian Herbert, Dune, Anne McCaffrey the Dragons of Pern series, Robert J. Sawyer Flash Forward, Robert Silverberg, Sailing to Byzantium, Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle, A Mote in God's Eye, and Orson Scott Card, Ender's Game, to name a few.

Literary legend L. Ron Hubbard started the contest in 1984 to help new writers get a leg up in a very competitive field. The contest has launched the careers of hundreds of authors and eight New York Times bestsellers.

For more information about the contest, go to
On the home page click on “contest rules.”


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui

Email >
Visit website