Precincts Announced for Cherokee Nation Sept. 24 Election

Share Article

Cherokee Nation has set the final list of precinct locations for the Saturday, Sept. 24 special election for principal chief.

Cherokee Nation has set the final list of precinct locations for a Saturday, Sept. 24 special election for principal chief. The precincts remain the same as in earlier elections held in 2011, but officials with the tribe’s Election Commission said a few physical locations have changed because of availability, meaning voters should double-check where they go to cast their ballots.

All citizens who were registered to vote in the general election will be eligible to vote in the special election. The tribe’s election law ends voter registration for an election year on March 31 of that year, so voters who registered after the deadline will not be eligible to vote in the special election. Registered, eligible voters who may not be able to vote in person at the special election had until Aug. 12 to request an absentee ballot. According to the Cherokee Nation Election Commission, all voters who requested an absentee ballot in the general and run-off elections were automatically sent a ballot for the special election and did not need to request a ballot again.

Absentee ballots were mailed to voters who requested them on Aug. 29 and 30. If a voter who requested an absentee ballot does not receive it by Friday, Sept. 9, they should contact the Cherokee Nation Election Commission immediately.

Any registered voter who wishes to do so may vote early at the CNEC office, 2116 S. Bald Hill Rd., on Sept. 17, Sept. 20, Sept. 21 and Sept. 22, 2011, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

At-large voters can only vote by absentee ballot or in person on early voting days. To vote absentee by mail, the voter must mail the duly executed ballot to the CNEC at P.O. Box 1188, Tahlequah, OK, 74465. The notarized ballot must be received at the post office by 12 p.m. Sept. 24, 2011. At-large voters may also bring their ballots to drop off at the CNEC office on Sept. 21-24, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. A free notary public service will be available onsite for any voter who needs to have his or her absentee ballot notarized.

The special election is a result of an order from Cherokee Nation Supreme Court which found it was “impossible to determine the election result with mathematical certainty” and that the court could not “certify a successful candidate for the office of Principal Chief of the Cherokee Nation” in the June 25 general election. The 2007-2011 term of the principal chief expired on Aug. 14. Deputy Chief Joe Crittenden was sworn in that day and has temporarily assumed the duties of principal chief. Tribal Council Speaker Meredith Frailey was sworn in as the acting deputy chief. Both will resume their regular duties after a winner has been declared in the Sept. 24 election.

Precinct locations are:
Cherokee Nation District 1: Cherokee and Wagoner Counties

(Sequoyah Schools–old gym)
17091 S. Muskogee Ave
Tahlequah, Okla.

(High School cafeteria)
26622 S. 520 Rd
Park Hill, Okla.

(Town Hall)
P.O. Box 147
Hulbert, Okla.

(New gym entrance hall)
17210 S. 569 Rd.
Tahlequah, Okla.

(Lowery School Library)
21132 E. 640 Rd
Tahlequah, Okla.

New Senior Citizen Center
P.O. Box 744
Okay, Okla.

Cherokee Nation District 2: Adair, Delaware and Ottawa Counties

(Wilma P. Mankiller Health Center)
Rt. 6 Box 840
Stilwell, Okla.

(High School Cafeteria)
Hwy 62 & Park St.
Westville, Okla.

(High School)
Old Hwy 17
Bunch, Okla.

(Bell School)
Rt. 5 Box 4470
Stilwell, Okla.

(Stonebrook Inn Hotel)
10400 Hwy 59 N.
Grove, Okla.

(Senior Citizens Center)
816 Main St.
Jay, Okla.

(Nutrition Site)
4 Kenwood 13001
Salina, Okla.

(Police/Utility Dept.)
150 S. Cherokee St.
Kansas, Okla.

(Skelly School)
Rt.1 Box 918
Watts, Okla.

(Community Service Center/City Hall)
201 SW. 1st St.
Afton, Okla.

Cherokee Nation District 3: McIntosh, Muskogee and Sequoyah Counties

(Police Department)
100 S. Blackstone
Vian, Okla.

(City Hall)
122 N. Main St.
Marble City, Okla.

(First United Methodist Church)
2100 McGee
Sallisaw, Okla.

(Cherokee Community Center)
601 Main St.
Muldrow, Okla.

(Belfonte School)
475751 St. Hwy 101
Muldrow, Okla.

(Middle School Event Center)
1012 5th Ave.
Warner, Okla.

(Town Hall)
200 W. Popular Ave.
Ft. Gibson, Okla.

(Three Rivers Health Center)
1001 S. 41st St. E.
Muskogee, Okla.

Cherokee Nation District 4: Craig, Mayes, Nowata and Washington Counties

(Keeler Hts. Community Bldg.)
1003 S. Virginia
Bartlesville, Okla.

(Tom Buffington Hts.)
900 McNelis
Vinita, Okla.

(Cherokee Nation Community Building)
215 Oklahoma St.
S. Coffeyville, Okla.

(Senior Citizens Center)
238 N. Maple St.
Nowata, Okla.

(Gateway Assembly of God Church)
440 W. 10th St.
Welch, Okla.

(Ag Building Fairgrounds)
Old Hwy 20
Pryor, Okla.

(AMO Health Center)
900 N. Owen Walters Blvd.
Salina, Okla.

(City Hall)
109 E. Ross
Locust Grove, Okla.

(Police Dept./City Hall)
103 Lake Ave.
Spavinaw, Okla.

Cherokee Nation District 5: Rogers and Tulsa Counties

(Trinity Christian Church)
1055 N. Garnett
Tulsa, Okla.

1223 W. Main
Collinsville, Okla.

1717 W. Dupont
Claremore, Okla.

(Boys & Girls Club)
119 Ash St.
Chelsea, Okla.

(Community Center)
207 S. Maple
Oologah, Okla.

About Cherokee Nation
The Cherokee Nation is the sovereign operating government of the Cherokee people. It is a federally recognized tribe of more than 300,000 Cherokee citizens, with its capital located in Tahlequah, Okla. Employing more than 8,200 people, Cherokee Nation’s annual economic impact in Oklahoma and surrounding areas is more than $1.3 billion. To learn more, please visit

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Travis Noland
Cherokee Nation
(918) 453-5489
Email >