Winners Announced in International Illustrators of the Future Contest

Share Article

2nd Quarter Winners Are from Russia, Taiwan and the US

The 2nd quarter winners of the 28th year of the L. Ron Hubbard Illustrators of the Future Contest were announced today by Joni Labaqui, the contest Director.


Cornelius Cockroft from Wisconsin
Oleh Derhachov from Russia now living in Montreal
Chung yu Huang from Taiwan now living in California

As winners, they are awarded a week long intensive workshop, an awards ceremony and are also published in the annual L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future. Chung yu, and Greg will also receive a cash prize for their win this quarter.

An Illustrator Grand Prize winner is announced at the annual awards ceremony and is selected by another panel of judges. They will all now compete with the winners from the other quarters, twelve winners in all, for the grand prize of $5,000.00.

Each illustrator winner is assigned a story from the sister contest, Writers of the Future, where 12 writers are also competing for the grand prize in their category.

Well-known illustrator contest judges include award winning artists: Cliff Nielsen, Bob Eggleton, Stephen Hickman, Laura Brodian Freas, Judith Miller, Vincent DiFate, Leo & Diane Dillon, Stephen Youll, Dave Dorman, Shaun Tan, Robert Castillo and Stephan Martiniere.

For more information about the contest, go to

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui
Email >