Workers’ Compensation Rehabilitation Certification Standards for Canadian Healthcare Providers Established for the First Time

Share Article

CWcHP™ designation created to ensure expert and ethical care from Canadian physiotherapists, occupational therapists and athletic trainers, enhancing their degrees.

News Image

A new credential for Canadian physiotherapists and assistants, occupational therapists and assistants and athletic trainers who care for workers’ compensation patients has been established to certify professionals in these fields. This certification is the Certified Workers’ Compensation Healthcare Provider, or CWcHP™.

Prior to the establishment of this certification, physiotherapy assistants and occupational therapy assistants who were involved in the rehabilitation of patients on workers’ compensation were not required to meet specific standards in order to care for these patients. Until now, these professionals also did not have any means of gaining accolades or recognition for their specialty outside of their post-secondary degrees.

“The Canadian CWcHP™ enhances the degrees of professionals in these occupations with this specialty certification. Prior to this specialty certification, physiotherapy assistants and occupational therapy assistants were often seen as lesser participants in healthcare delivery. In addition, the CWcHP helps Canadian professionals in these fields when they look toward practicing in the U.S.” Comments Dr. John Mayer, a nationally acclaimed therapist and author.

This certification and examination arose out of the need for therapists and trainers to show competency and meet specific benchmarks in the delivery of services to workers’ compensation patients.

“This is a giant step in the fields of physiotherapy, occupational therapy, athletic training and workers’ compensation. It has quality of care, legal and third party reimbursement consequences,” added Dr. Mayer.

To obtain the CWcHP™, applicants must be in the fields of physiotherapy, occupational therapy or athletic training and they must pass the certification examination, entitled the National Certification Examination for Canadian Workers’ Compensation Healthcare Providers: An Evidence-Based Approach. The examination covers three main areas of competency: clinical-based knowledge, legal issues and employer-conscious knowledge. The examination took two years to develop and utilizes the knowledge of leading physical therapy providers as well as state-of-the-art research in this field.

After passing the examination, a professional can use the initials, CWcHP™ after his/her name and on promotional materials.

“This certification holds healthcare providers to a higher standard as well as advances their careers as distinguished providers of excellence,” explains Andrew Teunis, Director of Development at ISPA™ and the test’s developer.

Complete information on the new certification and the exam can be found on or the certifying association’s web site:

The International Sports Professionals Association (ISPA™) is the world’s largest credentialing service for professionals in sports. The ISPA sets standards for its membership by providing professional services to the sports world spanning from children’s sports to professional athletes. The ISPA includes a wide variety of professional occupations from coaches, sport psychologists, physicians, accountants, agents, physical therapists, chiropractors, nutritionists, sport physiologists, trainers, and more. ISPA designates that member professionals adhere to a strict code of ethics and have met the highest standards in their fields to provide professional services to athletes and to sports.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Andrew Teunis-Director of Development
Visit website