Texas House Speaker Straus Swears in John Dickson of Denim Group as San Antonio Texas Lyceum President

Share Article

Organization looks forward to 2012 meetings centered on education and workforce, caring for Texans with special needs, the state’s water crisis, and an annual public conference on innovations in healthcare.

John Dickson, Denim Group

The Texas Lyceum, the state’s preeminent non-profit, non-partisan leadership organization hosted a ceremony today at the Texas Capitol where House Speaker Joe Straus swore in San Antonio cyber security expert John Dickson of Denim Group as the 2012 Lyceum President. Straus also congratulated 20 new Lyceum Directors from across Texas as well as the organization’s executive committee. (See lists of Texans below.)

The 32 year-old leadership group, which hosts quarterly conferences regarding key public policy issues facing Texas, is looking forward to the Lyceum’s first quarterly meeting in Brenham Texas where the topic is caring for adults with special needs. The meeting will include outstanding expert leaders in the field and feature panel discussions on science, special education, special needs funding, and long-term care. Participants will hear from prominent Texans with first-hand personal experience including Texas football legend Gene Stallings. The weekend will also cover bold and creative ideas to better serve persons with special needs including a panel on recent innovations lead by organzations such as Morgan’s Wonderland, Social Motion Skills, Inc., and The H.E.A.R.T. Program.

The Lyceum will host a second meeting in San Antonio, April 26 – 28, regarding public education policy, workforce issues and the Texas economy. This summer, August 9 – 10, Lyceum members will meet in Amarillo to tackle the timely and controversial policies surrounding the water crisis in Texas, with T. Boone Pickens as one of the featured speakers and this October, The Texas Lyceum 2012 Public Conference will convene in Houston. This year’s public conference will feature top scientists and entrepreneurs discussing public policy around commercialization and funding of biomedical research, education in the sciences and medicine, challenges faced and lessons learned by the leading entrepreneurs, and state initiatives including the $3 billion Cancer and Prevention Research Institute of Texas.

The Texas Lyceum named the following outstanding Texans to serve as the 2012 incoming class of Directors:
Name    Title    Company    City
JJ Baskin    Founder and Executive Director    Education Capital    Austin
Roy Nieto    Founder/Owner    SureScore    Austin
Heidi Smith    Executive Director    Texas Book Festival    Austin
Walt Massey    President, Consultancy Division    Balfour Beatty Construction    Dallas
Mark Plunkett    Investment Management    Hilliard Street Capital    Dallas
Monique Wedderburn    Director of Asia Center    University of Texas at Dallas    Dallas
Edmundo Castaneda    CEO    Sierra Medical Center    El Paso
Laura Enriquez    Attorney/Shareholder    Mounce, Green, Myers, Safi, Paxon &Galatzan    El Paso
Neal Carlson    Vice President    Goldman Sachs    Houston
Mike Feinberg    Co-Founder and Superintendent    KIPP Houston    Houston
Winell Herron    Group VP, Public Affairs, Diversity    H-E-B    Houston
Jennifer Litton    Asst. Professor of Medicine    UT MD Anderson Cancer Center    Houston
Marlen Whitley    Partner    Thompson & Knight, L.L.P.    Houston
Andrea Young    President     Sam Houston Race Park    Houston
David Giles    Senior VP of Operations – West Region    Suddenlink Communications    Lubbock
Susan Valverde    Executive Director    Sylvan Learning     McAllen
Greg Flores    Vice President of Public Affairs    San Antonio Water System    San Antonio
Cara Magrane    COO    Respite Care of San Antonio, Inc.    San Antonio
Leigh Vickery    Founder and CEO    Leigh Oliver’s All-Natural Fun Foods    Tyler
Craig Cherry    Attorney/Shareholder    Haley & Olson PC    Waco

The Texas Lyceum named the following Lyceum Directors to serve on the 2012 executive committee.

2012 Texas Lyceum Executive Committee
Chairman                Dathan Voelter
President                John Dickson
President-elect            Collin Cox
Immediate Past Chairman        John James
Public Conference Co-Chairmen    Marjana Lindsey Roach and Evan Melrose
Vice President-Development    Jennifer Stevens
Vice President-Finance        Frank Urbanek
Vice President-Leadership        Jane Cummins
Vice President-Marketing        Dave Shaw
Vice President-Media        Tracy LaQuey Parker
Vice President-Membership    Alicia Knight
Vice President-Lyceum Poll    Dennis Speight
Vice President-Publications    Jenny Ligon
Vice President-Recruiting        Brian Feld
Vice President-Strategic Planning    Bryan Sanchez
Alumni Liaison            Johnny Sutton
Alumni Newsletter Editor        Patrick Keel
Administrator/Secretary        Kathryne Hillier

In addition to hosting four conferences, the organization is scheduled to release their annual Texas Lyceum Poll this summer, name a 2012 Stewardship of Texas Values Award recipient, and award college scholarships to a group of deserving Texas high school seniors.

About the Texas Lyceum
The Texas Lyceum, a non-profit, non-partisan group, is a premier statewide leadership organization focused on identifying the next generation of top Texas leaders. The Lyceum consists of 96 men and women from throughout the state who begin their six-year term while under the age of 46, and have demonstrated leadership in their community and profession, together with a deep commitment to Texas. For more information, please visit http://www.texaslyceum.org. Texas Lyceum is on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/texaslyceum


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Robin Lutchansky
Lutchansky Communications
(408) 963-6773
Email >
Visit website