Internationally Bestselling Novel SPIN Now Released in the U.S.

Share Article

In the vein of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin, SPIN -- a novel by Catherine McKenzie -- offers a fresh take on the world of tabloid journalism, and smartly captures popular culture’s fascination with the lifestyles of the rich and famous.

How far would you go to get the job of your dreams? This is the question at the center of Catherine McKenzie’s edgy, fast-paced U.S. debut—SPIN (William Morrow Paperbacks; On-Sale: February 7, 2012; ISBN: 9780062115355; e-book ISBN: 9780062115362; Price: $14.99), a sharp, tongue-and-cheek look into the world of celebrity-driven gossip reporting.

All Kate Sandford has ever wanted was to be a real writer. After what seems a lifetime of living off ramen noodles and free bar drinks, she gets the call she’s been dreaming of—a chance to interview at her favorite music magazine, The Line. So, what does she do? Go out to celebrate the biggest possible career move of her life on the eve of her birthday.

But the celebration ends abruptly the next morning when Kate wakes up still hammered from the night before with only 15 minutes until her 9AM interview. No surprise, she doesn’t get the job, but the folks at the media company think she might be perfect for another assignment for their gossip rag. Kate is asked to follow a young female celebrity into rehab to get the inside story. If she can get the rehab scoop (and complete the 30-day program without getting kicked out), they’ll reconsider her for the job at The Line.

Kate accepts the undercover rehab challenge without a second thought. But things get complicated when real friendships develop, a cute celebrity handler named Henry gets involved, and Kate begins to realize she may be in rehab for a reason.

And this is just the first of the author's books being released this year: “I’m really excited that SPIN is now available for a US audience," says Catherine McKenzie. "This is a big year for me, with all three of my books – SPIN, ARRANGED and FORGOTTEN – hitting the US market. I look forward to seeing how it all turns out.”

In the vein of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin, SPIN offers a fresh take on the world of tabloid journalism, and smartly captures popular culture’s fascination with the lifestyles of the rich and famous.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Catherine McKenzie was born and raised in Montreal, Quebec, where she now practices law. An avid runner and skier, she sits on various boards and professional organizations, and has taught part-time at the McGill Faculty of Law. She has also written a number of pieces for both the Huffington Post and Writer Unboxed. Visit her website at http://www.CatherineMcKenzie.com.

###

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Diane Saarinen
Visit website