Academy Member wins Nobel Prize for Physics

Share Article

Modeler and Academy of Model Aeronautics member David J. Wineland, receives a Nobel Prize for physics.

Dave with his Satellite 1000, an origninal 1980 Nats winner, Denver 2006. D. DeLoach photo.

The Academy of Model Aeronautics is pleased to recognize the scientific accomplishments of one of its members, David J. Wineland, who just received a Nobel Prize for physics. Wineland, a physicist at the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the University of Colorado, along with Serge Haroche of France, were awarded the most prestigious prize in their field for inventing methods to observe the bizarre properties of the quantum world.

Wineland is a longtime member of the Magnificent Mountain Men, an AMA club in the Denver area, dedicated to Free Flight, a hobby and sporting discipline which, along with Radio Control and Control Line, represents the recreational activities pursued by the Academy’s 143,000 nationwide members.

“Dave is as meticulous in his modeling as he is modest about his professional pursuits,” said Don DeLoach, past president of his club and editor of the National Free Flight Society Digest. “He’s been active with us for almost 40 years. When he received a National Medal of Science in 2008 from President Bush he didn’t even mention it to us.”

Wineland, living in Boulder CO, still flies the model he used to compete and win the AMA’s National Aeromodeling Championships in his model class in 1980 and 1981. Today, he enjoys the hobby and camaraderie with his fellow aeromodelers.

Aeromodeling is often the childhood pursuit for many scientists, engineers and technical professionals who often continue the hobby throughout their lives. The Academy offers a STEM-certified program for middle-schoolers to encourage the exploration of aeronautics and the physical sciences. Wineland was recognized by the Nobel committee for “groundbreaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems.” His work, which will be officially awarded in Sweden December 10, has led to the construction of extremely precise clocks and the groundwork for creating a new type of superfast computers based on quantum physics.

The Academy of Model Aeronautics, founded in 1936, is dedicated to the recreational, educational and scientific pursuit of model aviation with 2,400 clubs throughout the United States, including Puerto Rico and Guam.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Chris Brooks
Academy of Model Aeronautics
(765) 287-1256 276
Email >
Visit website