Prism Helicopters First to Achieve Medallion Foundation Safety Award

Share Article

Prism Helicopters of Wasilla, Alaska is the first rotor wing operator to attain the Medallion Foundation Shield award. The award was presented by Alaska Governor Sean Parnell, FAA Alaska Regional Administrator Bob Lewis, and Medallion Board president Wilfred "Boyuck" Ryan.

Recognizing excellence in aviation safety Prism Helicopters, Inc. was honored by Alaska Gov. Parnell as the first rotor wing commercial operator to achieve a Medallion Shield.

“We are happy to have accomplished this hallmark in aviation safety,” said Mark Stigar, president of Prism Helicopters, Inc. “We’ve worked hard to achieve the Medallion Foundation Shield a goal we set our sights on a year ago.”

Prism Helicopters, Inc. of Wasilla Alaska was awarded the Shield by Alaska Governor Sean Parnell and FAA Alaska Regional Administrator Bob Lewis, and Wilfred Ryan president of the Board of Directors for Medallion Foundation. The award was presented at the Medallion Foundation Aviation Safety Dinner on Oct. 12, 2012 in Anchorage.

“We are very proud and excited to be the first commercial rotor wing business in Alaska to have achieved the Shield,” said Dave Zall, Director of Operations.

Located on Lake Wasilla, Alaska, Prism Helicopters a company that generates $10 million annually in revenue has 19 full time and 14 seasonal employees and has operated in Alaska for 13 years.

Specializing in vertical reference long line slinging operations, Exploration in mineral and oil and gas; Forestry; Government work; Prism considers its greatest achievement as a company that has built its reputation on safe and efficient service.

“This achievement was made possible through a team effort every day; ensuring a safe environment in the air and on the ground by pilots, mechanics, by every employee of Prism,” added Zall.

Prism Helicopters entered into Medallion Foundation’s Star Program in 2005 when it achieved a Star for Controlled Flight Into Terrain Avoidance (CFIT-A). It later earned the Operational Control Star in 2006, Safety Star 2007, Maintenance and Ground Service and Internal Audit stars in 2009. Shields are awarded after all star programs are maintained and a carrier passes a thorough audit of all programs.

The Medallion Foundation is a non-profit aviation safety organization formed in 2001 by the Alaska Air Carriers Association with a mission to modify Alaska aviation safety culture. Medallion has 34 voluntary member airlines that have achieved either a Star or Shield for aviation safety.
Medallion has 16 flight simulators (ATDs) statewide and its CFIT-A program was credited for aiding in reducing fatal controlled flights into terrain over the past 10-years by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Dennis Ward

Mark Stigar
Follow us on
Visit website