USO Gala to Honor Military Heroes and Volunteers for Extraordinary Service and Sacrifice

Share Article

Recording Artist and Film Star Jordin Sparks to Provide Headline Entertainment for Annual Celebration. National Guard Joins Service Member of the Year Honorees

News Image

2012 USO Gala: Honoring those who Serve

Friday, November 2, 2012
    4:30 p.m. Media in place for interviews
    5:00 p.m. USO Service Member of the Year interviews
    6:30 p.m. Welcoming Reception & VIP Red Carpet (media by request only)
    7:30 p.m. Dinner & Evening Program

Washington Hilton
1919 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20009

Spirit of the USO Award recipients

  •     Admiral Michael G. Mullen, USN (Ret) and Mrs. Deborah Mullen

Featured Entertainment

  •     Jordin Sparks, 19 Recordings/RCA recording artist

Mistress of Ceremonies

  •     Allison Seymour, Fox 5 Morning News Anchor

Sloan Gibson, President, USO
    USO Service Members of the Year

  •     Soldier of the Year: Staff Sergeant Jacob J. Perkins, C Troop, 1-89 Cavalry, Fort Drum, NY
  •     Marine of the Year: Sergeant Clifford M. Wooldridge, Training Company, Marine Corps Security Force Regiment (MCSFR), Naval Support Activity Northwest Annex, Chesapeake, VA
  •     Sailor of the Year: EOD2 (EWS) Gregory F. Gaylor, EODMU Three, Naval Base San Diego, CA
  •     Airman of the Year: Staff Sergeant Christopher S. Beversdorf, Tactical Air Command and Control Journeyman, 25th Air Support Operations Squadron, Wheeler Army Airfield, HI
  •     Coast Guardsman of the Year: ME2 Nicholas A. Beane, Explosive Detection K9 Team, USCG Maritime Security Response Team Chesapeake, Virginia Beach, VA
  •     National Guardsman of the Year: Senior Airman Evan J. Stevens, 183rd Fighter Wing’s Security Forces Squadron, Abraham Lincoln Capital Airport, Springfield, IL

    USO Volunteer of the Year

  •     Army Sgt. Richard Schuh

Special Guests and Presenters

  •     Kelli Finglass, Director of the Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders
  •     The Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders, America’s Sweethearts
  •     Chip Bok, National Editorial Cartoonist
  •     Bruce Higdon, Caricature/Army Cartoonist
  •     Ed Steckley, MAD Magazine

The USO is continuing a time-honored tradition of recognizing the bravery and sacrifice of an enlisted hero from each branch of the military with the USO Service Member of the Year Award. Also being recognized are the USO Volunteer of the Year and the Spirit of the USO recipients.

For more than 70 years, the USO has been lifting the spirits of America’s troops and their families. An estimated 1100 guests will gather to pay special tribute to our men and women in uniform. Guests will include Washington dignitaries, celebrities, Members of Congress, military leadership, members of the USO Board of Governors and USO Corporate sponsors.

The USO is a private, nonprofit organization, not a government agency. All of our programs and services are made possible by the American people, support of our corporate partners and the dedication of our volunteers and staff.

David J. McIntyre, Jr., TriWest Healthcare Alliance

Rima Al-Sabah, Sylvia M. Panetta, Barbara Levin, Patricia McKeon, Deanie Dempsey, Mary Jo Myers, Margaret Gibson


TriWest Healthcare Alliance             

Vice Chairman                    
Procter & Gamble

Four Star

Three Star
Express Scripts Federal Pharmacy Services
Huntington Ingalls Industries
Northrop Grumman Corporation             

Tickets:    $1,000 per ticket. $15,000 per table. Contact: gala(at)uso(dot)org

For more information, visit

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Sharee Posey
United Service Organizations
Email >
Visit website