USO Gala to Honor Military Heroes and Volunteers for Extraordinary Service and Sacrifice

Share Article

Recording Artist and Film Star Jordin Sparks to Provide Headline Entertainment for Annual Celebration. Celebrity Chef Jennifer Behm to Mix-Up Specialty Cocktails for Guests. National Guard Joins Service Member of the Year Honorees

News Image

WHAT: 2012 USO Gala: Honoring those who Serve

WHEN: Friday, November 2, 2012
4:30 p.m. Media in place for interviews
5:00 p.m. USO Service Member of the Year interviews
6:30 p.m. Welcoming Reception
7:30 p.m. Dinner & Evening Program

WHERE: Washington Hilton
1919 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20009

WHO: Keynote Speaker

  • General Martin Dempsey, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff

Spirit of the USO Award recipients

  • Admiral Michael G. Mullen, USN (Ret) and Mrs. Deborah Mullen

Featured Entertainment

  • Jordin Sparks, 19 Recordings/RCA recording artist

Mistress of Ceremonies

  • Alison Seymour, Fox 5 Morning News Anchor

Sloan Gibson, President, USO
USO Service Members of the Year

  • Soldier of the Year: Staff Sergeant Jacob J. Perkins, C Troop, 1-89 Cavalry, Fort Drum, NY

•Marine of the Year: Sergeant Clifford M. Wooldridge, Training Company, Marine Corps Security Force Regiment (MCSFR), Naval Support Activity Northwest Annex, Chesapeake, VA
•Sailor of the Year: EOD2 (EWS) Gregory F. Gaylor, EODMU Three, Naval Base San Diego, CA
•Airman of the Year: Staff Sergeant Christopher S. Beversdorf, Tactical Air Command and Control Journeyman, 25th Air Support Operations Squadron, Wheeler Army Airfield, HI
•Coast Guardsman of the Year: ME2 Nicholas A. Beane, Explosive Detection K9 Team, USCG Maritime Security Response Team Chesapeake, Virginia Beach, VA
•National Guardsman of the Year: Senior Airman Evan J. Stevens, 183rd Fighter Wing’s Security Forces Squadron, Abraham Lincoln Capital Airport, Springfield, IL

USO Volunteer of the Year
•Army Sgt. Richard Schuh
Special Guests and Presenters

  • The Dallas Cowboy Cheerleaders, America’s Sweethearts

•Chip Bok, National Editorial Cartoonist
•Bruce Higdon, Caricature/Army Cartoonist
•Ed Steckley, MAD Magazine
•Kellen Winslow Sr., Pro Football Hall of Famer
Celebrity Chef

  • Jennifer Behm, Winner of FOX Television’s “MasterChef” Season 2

WHY: The USO is continuing a time-honored tradition of recognizing the bravery and sacrifice of an enlisted hero from each branch of the military with the USO Service Member of the Year Award. Also being recognized are the USO Volunteer of the Year and the Spirit of the USO recipients.

For more than 70 years, the USO has been lifting the spirits of America’s troops and their families. An estimated 1100 guests will gather to pay special tribute to our men and women in uniform. Guests will include Washington dignitaries, celebrities, Members of Congress, military leadership, members of the USO Board of Governors and USO Corporate sponsors.

The USO is a private, nonprofit organization, not a government agency. All of our programs and services are made possible by the American people, support of our corporate partners and the dedication of our volunteers and staff.

Chair: David J. McIntyre, Jr., TriWest Healthcare Alliance

Co-Chairs: Rima Al-Sabah, Sylvia M. Panetta, Barbara Levin, Patricia McKeon, Deanie Dempsey, Mary Jo Myers, Margaret Gibson

TriWest Healthcare Alliance

Vice Chairman                    
Procter & Gamble

Four Star

Three Star
Express Scripts Federal Pharmacy Services
Huntington Ingalls Industries
Northrop Grumman Corporation

Tickets:    $1,000 per ticket. $15,000 per table. Contact: gala(at)uso(dot)org

For more information, visit


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Sharee Posey
United Service Organizations
Email >
Visit website