New Memoir Tells One Woman’s Path Towards God

Share Article

Author Katharine Rose Marie announces the release of new book, ‘Waking Up Sober in a Convent.’

News Image
Many are looking for answers for today’s complex problems

In her new book, “Waking Up Sober in a Convent – And Other Spiritual Adventures” (published by AuthorHouse), Katharine Rose Marie chronicles a personal story of faith, self-discovery and self-acceptance.

“My pastor encouraged me to share my God Story with others,” shares Marie, who goes on to explain: “A God Story is how you see God working in your life, leading and guiding you. My desire is to share my God Story with others in order to inspire them to reflect on their own journey with the Divine.”

Waking Up Sober in a Convent” is a spiritual memoir. It tells the story of a young woman’s spiritual journey from being raised Catholic, entering a convent and overcoming addiction to ultimately leaving the convent and going through the struggle of coming to terms with her sexuality. Marie explores various religions and philosophies and ultimately discovers her spiritual foundation, which is Love.

In this excerpt of “Waking Up Sober in a Convent,” Marie describes the God of her youth, which she will discover years later is the God she spent much of her adulthood searching for:

When I was about five years old I had an experience of God’s love. I sat in church on Sunday morning, before the Mass began. The church was silent. I sat quietly and looked around at the stained glass windows and the various statues. Up high on the wall behind the altar was a stained glass window of the Blessed Mother holding the baby Jesus. A warm feeling glowed in my heart. I felt like ET with my heart light all aglow, recognizing the Mother Ship.

Fast forward …now I’m 21 years old….walking through the halls of a Convent I entered eighteen months earlier, only now I’m six months sober, slowly waking up. Then one day it suddenly hits me, “OMG! I’m in a Convent! I’ll be taking vows in a few months – I’m going to be a NUN!! This is happening way too fast!! I gotta slow this down. What do I do now???”

How did I get here? And where was I going?

Fans of Elizabeth Gilbert’s “Eat, Pray, Love” are sure to find much to enjoy in Marie’s thoughtful recollections. “Many are looking for answers for today’s complex problems,” says Marie, who explores in her book such teachings as Spiritualism, Science of Mind and A Course in Miracles. “Many are wondering what this life is all about. This book offers exploration of various spiritual paths.”

About the Author
Katharine Rose Marie is a singer/songwriter, life coach and motivational speaker. She works with those recovering from addiction and those who want to empower themselves and create the life of their dreams. Marie is trained in addiction recovery, grief and loss support and Science of Mind principles. With over 25 years of recovery from alcoholism and codependency, Marie ministers from a place of empathy and compassion. She loves to empower others to find and live their life’s purpose. She lives with her partner in California. For more information, visit her website: http://www.KatharineRoseMarie.com.

AuthorHouse, an Author Solutions, Inc. self-publishing imprint, is a leading provider of book publishing, marketing, and bookselling services for authors around the globe and offers the industry’s only suite of Hollywood book-to-film services. Committed to providing the highest level of customer service, AuthorHouse assigns each author personal publishing and marketing consultants who provide guidance throughout the process. Headquartered in Bloomington, Indiana, AuthorHouse celebrated 15 years of service to authors in Sept. 2011.For more information or to publish a book visit authorhouse.com or call 1-888-519-5121. For the latest, follow @authorhouse on Twitter.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Marketing Services
AuthorHouse
888-519-5121
Email >
Visit website