2012 Yosemite International Film Festival Announces Winners

Share Article

Jordan Imhoff’s “The Ratio” wins the Grand Jury Award, the festival’s top honor.

The 4th annual Yosemite International Film Festival is pleased to announce the winners and official finalists of the 2012 competition season. A complete list of the winners and official finalists can be viewed on the contest’s website, http://www.yosemitefilmfestival.com.

The Yosemite International Film Festival awards recognition for some of the world's finest and most visionary independent films made by many of the leading contemporary artists and creative minds working in cinema and screenwriting today. The judges selected one exclusive winner from each Award Tier and Best of Category, along with the overall Grand Jury Prize Winner, "The Ratio" directed by Jordan Imhoff, selected as the very best project from among all the competition categories, the highest and most acclaimed honor bestowed in the contest.

In addition, Grand Prize Winners and Official Finalists were selected for the annual Screenplay Competition at the discretion of expert judges. Screenplay Competition winners include, 1st place winner "Red Flags" written by Sandra Bowes, 2nd place winner "She Will Be Mine" written by Burleigh Smith, 3rd place winner "Transhumans" written by Alex Sobol, 4th place winner "The Badminton Warrior" written by Tom Radovich, and 5th place winner "Roadside Crosses Revised” written by Solace Pineo.

This year’s highlights include the Grand Jury Prize Winner, “The Ratio” directed by Jordan Imhoff, a story of a man who develops a theory that to have a chance of finding a girl he must achieve a ratio of three girls to one guy in any given social situation; Special Jury Prize Winner “Fambul Tok” directed by Sara Terry, victim and perpetrators of Sierra Lenoe’s brutal civil war come together for the first time in an unprecedented program of tradition-based truth-telling and forgiveness ceremonies; Special Jury Prize Winner “Masque” directed by Robert Hatch, defying a fate of destruction and despair, a scarred and evil prizefighter, henchman, and gambler conscripts the artful skills of a gifted benefactor who proffers the hope of a mythical journey. In “The Freedom Chair”, directed by Mike Douglas winner of the Best Feature Award, the story about the life of an aspiring skier and coach is changed forever after a ski accident. After coming to the realization he would never walk again, a conscious decision was made to make the best of a terrible situation.

“It was so gratifying to have received such an exceptional wide variety of submissions,” said Easton Stuart, Executive Director of the Yosemite International Film Festival. “Our mission is to recognize and award progressive, eye-opening, independent cinema and writing. After careful consideration, we are pleased to present the absolute best of the 2012 competition.”


Grand Jury Award: The Ratio Directed by Jordan Imhoff
Special Jury Award: Fambul Tok Directed by Sara Terry
Special Jury Award: Masque Directed by Robert Hatch
Special Jury Award: Scavenger Hunt: An Unlikely Union Directed by Matthew Podolsky and Eddie Chung
Special Jury Award: Unacceptable Levels Directed by Edward Brown
Best Feature: The Freedom Chair Directed by Mike Douglas
Best Animation: It's Such A Beautiful Day Directed by Don Herzfeldt
Best Director: Harvest Directed by John Beck
Best First-Time Director: The Free China Junk Directed by Robin Greenberg
Best Documentary: California Forever: Parks For The Future Directed by David Vassar
Best Documentary Short: Free Rider Directed by Robert and Kathy Chrestensen
Best Educational Film: Geology of California, 4,500,000,000 Years in the Making Directed by Reenie McMains
Best Environmental Film: From Nomad To Nobody Directed by Michael Buckely
Best Foreign Film: IL Cacciatore Di Anatre Directed by Egidio Veronesi
Best Music Video: Everything Like Always Directed by Pete Leder
Best Nature Film: The Next, Best West Directed by Darren Campbell
Best Short Film: 3113 Directed by Eric Demeusy
Best Student Film: The Illusion of Acting Directed by Jacob Briggs
Best California Film: Fairies and Faun Directed by Duilio Zaffaroni
Best Television Pilot: Chord Directed by Ryan Atimoyoo



1st Place - "Time if the Jaguar" Written by Andrew Arthur
2nd Place - "Getting The Business" Written by Halk Hakoblan
3rd Place - "Fall From Grace" Written by Jodi Davis
4th Place - "The Badminton Warrior" Written by Tom Radovich
5th Place - "Roadside Crosses Revised" Written by Solace Pineo

1st Place - "Red Flags" Written by Sandra Bowes
2nd Place - "She Will Be Mine" Written by Burleigh Smith
3rd Place - "Transhumans" Written by Alex Sobol


1st Place - "Threeway" Written by SB Edwards
2nd Place - "Sunset Fire" Written by A. Wayne Carter
3rd Place - "Consenting Adults" Written by Ilse Rumes


"Metacomet a.k.a. King Philip" Written by Richard Guimond
"Loveband" Written by Nicola Pedrozzi
"Shopping Mall Santa" Written by John Harris
"Out of the Wetlands" Written by Bruce Golde
"This Summer's Past" Written by Russel Burrows
"The Guilt" Written by Giovanni Merla


Animation Competition: Surviving Hunger
California Film Competition: San Francisco's Broken Promise
Documentary Film Competition: Green Fire
Environmental Film Competition: Tiger Dynasty
Feature Film Competition: LIKE THE WATER
Music Video Competition: Yeku Remixed
Short Film Competition: Last Wild Race
Student Film Competition: Jesus Was A Moonwalker, a documentary film
Television Pilot Competition: Nature's Journal


Animation Competition: Jimmy Paul The Pug Tooth Fairy
California Film Competition: Tonatiuh, Father Sun
Documentary Film Competition: Age of Champions
Environmental Film Competition: Thailand Untapped: The Global Reach of Engineers Without Borders USA
Feature Film Competition: APPU PAPPU
Music Video Competition: My Brother's Keeper
Short Film Competition: Kangaroo Like Alice
Student Film Competition: PURR
Television Pilot Competition: Miami 3 oh 5


Animation Competition: Wet and Wetter
California Film Competition: The Irrigationist
Documentary Film Competition: Just Do It: A Tale of Modern Day Outlaws
Environmental Film Competition: What's for Dinner?
Feature Film Competition: BOY
Music Video Competition: Forget About Me
Short Film Competition: Waterfall
Student Film Competition: Within
Television Pilot Competition: Chord

Media Contact: Easton Stuart | info(at)yosemitefilmfestival(dot)com


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Easton Stuart

Email >
Follow us on
Visit website