Readers Race to Discover Undisclosed Book Identity

Share Article

An unusual competition lets participants compete for a $3,000 prize while having fun hunting for the title of a book by a well-known author. The competition is sponsored by author Kfir Luzzatto and participation is completely free.

Participation is completely free and the prize is $3,000

The “Crossing the Meadow” Readers’ Competition – Prize: $3,000

Kfir Luzzatto’s novel, Crossing the Meadow, was published by Echelon Press in 2003 and was voted “Best Horror Novel” in the Preditors and Editors Readers’ Poll. Years later, Kfir happened to read a collection of short stories by a well-known author and was intrigued by the striking similarity between his novel and the opening short story in that collection. Kfir identified at least 13 elements in both works, which are responsible for the overall uncanny feeling of similarity between the two. The competition is meant to encourage readers to read literary work with a critical eye, and to pay a tribute to authors who have made a special effort to distance their work from that of others.

To compete, entrants must read Kfir Luzzatto’s novel, which they can download for free in popular e-book formats. After reading the book they must identify a collection of short stories, published any time after December 31, 2007, which has an opening short story that is similar in numerous respects to the novel. The detailed rules of the Competition are set forth in the Official Rules.

To win, the entrant must possess the ability to analyze literary texts and must be quicker than everyone else. The prize will go to the entrant who submits the entry that, in the judge’s opinion, best compares the works, according to the criteria set forth in the Official Rules. However, if two or more entries are identically ranked at the top, the entry submitted first will win.

To learn more and to register for the competition see the Official Rules or the YouTube Registration Tutorial.

The deadline for registering to enter is December 31, 2012 at 11:59:59 p.m. EST. The deadline for submitting Entries is February 15, 2013 at 11:59:59 p.m. EST.

Kfir is the author of five published novels and of several short stories, but now mostly writes full-length fiction. He is a HWA (Horror Writers Association) and ITW (International Thriller Writers) member and serves on the editorial board of The Harrow Press as Anthology Editor.

You can visit Kfir’s web site and read his blog at Follow him on Twitter (@KfirLuzzatto).

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Kfir Luzzatto
Visit website