2012 Spark:Product Awards Winners Announced

Share Article

Finalist Work Gathered For Exciting Finale to Spark Design Competition. VIP Jury Picked Best of the Best Designs.

With submissions arriving from all over the world and four competitions to judge, Spark was a busy scene during their recent jury week. "It was a recipe for chaos" said Spark founder, Peter Kuchnicki, "But somehow it all came together beautifully. Our team of volunteers, led by Spark Special Events Manager, Claire Woolf, juggled all the loose ends and made it happen."

The Spark Design Awards are a series of competitions that encourage and honor designs that make the world a better place. First held in 2007, the awards are focused into four competitions per year. Spark:Product is for industrial designs that are built, produced, built on "spec" or as part of a proposal, or is in pre-production, with commercial intent.

"In 2012, we had 144 submissions, ranging from high-tech electronics to very well thought-out products for healthcare," said Clark Kellogg, Spark advisor. "Our top vote getter was 'See Better to Learn Better' by Yves Behar, Founder/Chief Designer of Fuseproject in San Francisco. It's a free eyeglasses program for children in partnership with the Mexican government and Augen Optics. The eyewear is rugged, customizable and fun and the Spark jurors loved them. Honors also go out to Whipsaw Design, which secured an incredible 9 awards ranging from Spark! to Bronze."

The Spark:Product Jury was chaired by Hari Nair, Global Design Director for Whirlpool Corporation. The jurors chose 55 winners, including 8 top Spark! Awards, 11 Golds, 15 Silvers and 22 Bronzes. In addition, there was a Spark! and a Silver in the non-profit category and 1 student Gold. Thirteen countries were represented, with US and Holland submitting the most designs.

The highest award in Spark:Product is called the Spark!. Winning designs were:
See Better to Learn Better
Ion Proton™
Nurture Pocket
GE Residential WattStation
Tesla Model X
Eton FRX Field Radio Line
Philips Sonicare Airfloss HX8111

Spark! See Better to Learn Better    Yves    Behar    fuseproject
Spark! Ion Proton™    Lance    Hussey    RKS
Spark! Nurture Pocket    Nurture and Modo    Design Teams    Modo, Inc.
Spark! GE Residential WattStation    Yves    Behar    fuseproject
Spark! BLOOM    Doris    Sung    DOSU Studio/USC
Spark! Tesla Model X    Franz    von Holzhausen    Tesla Motors
Spark! Eton FRX Field Radio Line    Dan    Harden    Whipsaw, Inc.
Spark! Sonicare Airfloss HX8111    Consumer Lifestyle     Design Team    Philips
Gold    Nook Simple Touch    Robert     Brunner    Ammunition
Gold    Verb    Steelcase    Design    Steelcase
Gold    Barnes & Noble NOOK Tablet    Yves    Behar    fuseproject
Gold    Generator G11 User Experience    Design    Team    Smart Design
Gold    Smartstreets-Cyclepark™    Andrew Farish    and Chris Garcin    Smartstreets Ltd
Gold    beats by Dr. Dre Beats Mixr    Robert     Brunner    Ammunition
Gold    Cambium RDB 350     Bridget    Soldan    Optimal Design
Gold    Big Jambox by Jawbone    Yves    Behar    fuseproject
Gold    Dropcam Camera    Dan     Harden    Whipsaw, Inc.
Gold    Eton Rukus Bluetooth Stereo line    Dan    Harden    Whipsaw, Inc.
Gold    PRIMALx7    PRIMALx7 and PDT:    Design Teams    PDT
Silver     QiVi    Steelcase Design Studio     and Brodbeck Design    Steelcase
Silver     Speedphone 500    Deutsche Telekom     Product Design    Deutsche Telekom
Silver     Eton Turbodyne Series    Dan    Harden    Whipsaw, Inc.
Silver     Livescribe Echo Smartpen    Dan    Harden    Whipsaw, Inc.
Silver     Fight Malnutrition    Design    Innovation Team    Philips
Silver     mySentry    Uli    Rankers    Medtronic, Inc.
Silver     Theravent Snore Therapy    Matt    Durack    LUNAR
Silver     Altec Lansing inAir 5000    Altec Lansing and    Essential Teams    Essential
Silver     Sabi    Yves    Behar    fuseproject
Silver     OXO Tot Youth Booster Seat    Design    Team    Smart Design
Silver     Sonicare DiamondClean Toothbrush    Consumer Lifestyle     Design Team    Philips
Silver     Pyrex No Leak All Glass    RDD&E Design     Team    World Kitchen LLC
Silver     Beats by Dr. Dre Executive    Robert     Brunner    Ammunition
Silver     Diffrient Smart™ Task Chair    Niels Diffrient, Shea + Latone    Humanscale Design
Silver     Palatometer    John    Omdahl    Rocketship
Bronze Apnicure Winx    Dan    Harden    Whipsaw, Inc.
Bronze KitchenAid Pro Line Toasters    Design Team    Whirlpool Corporation
Bronze Minna Ola    Akbar    Dhanaliwala    Minna Life
Bronze Swivl by Satarii    Jochen    Backs    Studio Backs
Bronze Defibtech Lifeline VIEW AED    Gintaras     Vaisnys    Defibtech
Bronze bobble jug    Richard    Smiedt    Move Collective LLC
Bronze TP-Link N Router Line    Dan    Harden    Whipsaw, Inc.
Bronze Element Disc™ LED Light    Design Team    Humanscale
Bronze SodaStream SOURCE    Yves    Behar    fuseproject
Bronze LOCAL bicycle    Yves    Behar    fuseproject
Bronze Goal Zero, Power Anywhere    John    Omdahl    Rocketship
Bronze JAC<    Design Team     Doci    Springtime
Bronze InfiniteZ zSpace    Dan    Harden    Whipsaw, Inc.
Bronze Zero Technologies Computer    Dan    Harden    Whipsaw, Inc.
Bronze Gretchen - Tango Pouch    Anne-Christin    Schmitt    MiAna Accessories
Bronze Sparq Ultrasound    Healthcare    Design Team    Philips
Bronze AVENT manual breast pump    Consumer Lifestyle     Design Team    Philips
Bronze MiniDock    Dominic    Symons    Bluelounge
Bronze Sumo    Dominic Symons Bluelounge
Bronze Stagesource L3t Audio Speakers Ravi Sawhney    RKS
Bronze Wikipad Tablet and Gaming Console Ravi    Sawhney    RKS
Bronze Eames Aluminum Group Outdoor Susan Lyons    Herman Miller

Non-profit Winners
Spark! Firefly Phototherapy    William Harris    Design That Matters    Non-Profit
Silver CityBench Ignacio Ciocchini    Chelsea Improvement Company    Non-Profit

Student Winners
Gold Animal Stackers     Design Team    Stanford University    Student

The winners of these Awards will become the stars of the next Spark Design Awards Annual, to be published next year. The 2011 Awards edition was recently published and is available at Amazon.

More information about this organization and these competitions can be found at the Spark website landing page at http://www.sparkawards.com

Spark is proudly sponsored by Autodesk, Core77, ArchNewsNow, Archinect, Bustler, Pluo Consulting and RIOT Creative Imaging.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Peter Kuchnicki
Visit website