Does ‘Happily-Ever-After’ Exist in Los Angeles?

Share Article

Mystery Author Melissa M. Garcia publishes her third novel, "Chasing Demons"

I wrote 'Chasing Demons' because something about the ending of 'Falling Angels' bothered me.
- Melissa M. Garcia

Author Melissa M. Garcia has announced the release of "Chasing Demons," the latest book in her crime series featuring journalist Luc Actar. Garcia’s series showcases Los Angeles County in many different lights, as varied as the people living there.

Garcia’s first novel, "Falling Angels," introduced readers to ex-car thief Luc Actar as he tried to salvage a life he had thrown away. The novel left readers with the notion that everyone has the potential to live out their dreams. "Chasing Demons" picks up where "Falling Angels" left off and invokes the question of whether happy endings really do exist in Los Angeles.

“I wrote 'Chasing Demons' because something about the ending of 'Falling Angels' bothered me,” stated Garcia. “I wondered if Luc Actar would be satisfied with a ‘happily-ever-after’ ending. I wanted to see what would happen once he had everything he thought he wanted.”

In "Chasing Demons" Luc Actar is forced to confront his past when he learns of his father’s death. “He doesn’t believe the death changes him, but bringing up his past reminds Luc where he came from and he begins to doubt the direction he’s going,” Garcia said. As he chases these demons, Luc steps into the crosshairs of a killer. Determined to save his own life, a madman realizes his only option is to take everything Luc has.

"Chasing Demons" is Garcia’s third novel. The paperback and e-book versions are available through Amazon and other online distributors. For more information, visit Melissa M. Garcia’s website at

Born in La Mirada, California, Melissa M. Garcia has lived most of her life in the sometimes gritty, but always entertaining landscape that is Southern California. She graduated from California State University in Long Beach with a degree in English/Literature. Garcia is the author of the Luc Actar crime series (including "Falling Angels" and "Chasing Demons") and the Death Valley Mystery series ("Stranger: A Death Valley Mystery"). She has also published an e-book collection, "Faith Departed: Short Stories of Mystery, Crime, and Despair."

Media Contact:
Melissa M. Garcia

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author


Email >
Follow us on
Visit website