HarperCollins Publishers Acquires "Crash" Trilogy

Share Article

Popular self-published series to be made available in print December 18, 2012

HarperCollins Publishers announced today the acquisition of the Crash trilogy by debut author Nicole Williams as the first books the Children’s Division will categorize as 16 and up. Williams first self-published Crash and Clash as ebooks and sold more than 85,000 copies combined. Phoebe Yeh, Editorial Director at HarperCollins, negotiated the 3-book deal for North American translation rights with Jane Dystel of Dystel & Goderich Literary Management.

The HarperCollins ebook editions of Crash and Clash released November 20, 2012, and the paperback editions go on-sale December 18, 2012. Crush, the conclusion to the trilogy, will be published simultaneously as an ebook and paperback on April 23, 2013.

Crash is a steamy teen romance that follows the new girl in town, Lucy Larson, and the gorgeous local bad boy, Jude Ryder. Lucy’s strong, independent spirit vanishes when she’s with Jude, and even though Jude has warned her that he’s trouble and she should stay away, she can’t help but fall in love with him. Lucy and Jude’s all-consuming relationship continues after high school, and though they attend different universities, the intensity increases both emotionally and physically as the story unfolds.    

“Nicole’s readers are loyal and totally immersed in Lucy and Jude’s world,” Dystel said when speaking about the series. “Crash has that edgy, dangerous quality that I think fans of 50 Shades of Grey will love.”

“We’re seeing a trend toward realistic fiction in the marketplace, and we know our readers are looking for stories that follow characters after high school into more mature situations,” said Yeh. She added, “The books are compulsively readable. Nicole has a huge built-in fan base online, and her entrepreneurial spirit is refreshing and inspiring.”

Nicole Williams, author of The Eden Trilogy and The Patrick Chronicles is a wife, a mom, and a writer who believes in true love, kindred spirits, and happy endings. You can visit her online at http://nicoleawilliams.blogspot.com, on Facebook, or Twitter (@nwilliamsbooks).

HarperCollins Children’s Books is one of the leading publishers of children’s books. Respected worldwide for its tradition of publishing quality, award-winning books for young readers, HarperCollins is home to many timeless treasures—Charlotte’s Web, The Chronicles of Narnia, Goodnight Moon, Where the Sidewalk Ends, the Ramona series, and Where the Wild Things Are—and popular new classics—The Graveyard Book, A Series of Unfortunate Events, Warriors, and Fancy Nancy. Consistently at the forefront of digital innovation, HarperCollins Children’s Books delights young readers through engaging storytelling in all formats, including ebooks and apps. HarperCollins Children’s Books is a division of HarperCollins Publishers, one of the leading English-language publishers in the world and a subsidiary of News Corporation (NASDAQ: NWS, NWSA; ASX: NWS, NWSLV). Headquartered in New York, HarperCollins has publishing groups in the US, Canada, the UK, Australia/New Zealand, and India. You can visit HarperCollins Children’s Books at http://www.harpercollinschildrens.com and HarperCollins Publishers at http://www.harpercollins.com.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Olivia deLeon

Email >
Visit website