Second Volume of New York City Mayors Book Series Now Available

Share Article

Author Ralph J. Caliendo introduces readers to the Mayors of New York from 1898

News Image

From author Ralph J. Caliendo comes the second installment of his book series, New York City Mayors. Made available through Xlibris, Part II: The Mayors of Greater New York From 1898 continues where Caliendo’s first book, Part I: The Mayors of New York Before 1898, left off.

The city of Greater New York has now become the capital of the world: the global center of commerce, an international beacon of hope and opportunity, a sanctuary for innovation, and a living testament to the depths of human ingenuity. And over the last century, eighteen individuals have been elected mayor of this great city—an important job that’s often described as the most difficult in the world, second only to the president of the United States.

The office of mayor in the molding of New York City has been pivotal for each mayor who attempts to discard, refine, or improve upon the work set in motion by their predecessors. Although each mayor lent the office his own particular style of leadership and vision, a common thread unites them all: the desire to leave a city, in some way, better than the one they inherited.

In this comprehensive book, readers will have the opportunity to get to know in-depth the past New York City mayors and their works or legacies while serving this distinguished office; from Mayor Robert Van Wyck in 1898, followed by Mayor Seth Low in 1902, Mayor George McClellan in 1904, Mayor William Jay Gaynor in 1910, Mayor John Purroy Mitchel in 1914, Mayor John Hylan in 1918, Mayor James Walker in 1926, Mayor John O’Brien in 1933, Mayor Fiorello La Guardia in 1934, Mayor William O’Dwyer in 1946, Mayor Vincent Richard Impellitteri in 1950, Mayor Robert Wagner in 1954, Mayor John Vliet Lindsay in 1966, Mayor Abraham Beame in 1974, Mayor Edward Koch in 1978, Mayor David Dinkins in 1990, Mayor Rudolph Giuliani in 1994, to Mayor Michael Rubens Bloomberg in 2002.

For more information on this book, interested parties may log on to

About the Author
Ralph J. Caliendo, born in 1948, is a life-long NYC resident. He lived in Woodside for fifty-five years, and then moved to East Flushing. He earned a BS in Computer Science from New York Institute of Technology (NYIT) in 1972. After graduation, he became a member of the numismatic organization the Flushing Coin Club since 1979 and was its president from 1983 to 1985 and member of its Board of Directors since 1981. The field of numismatics helped him developed his interest in American history, and especially New York City history.

NEW YORK CITY MAYORS * by Ralph J. Caliendo
Publication Date: April 29, 2010
Trade Paperback; $19.99; 399 pages; 978-1-4500-8810-7
Trade Hardback; $29.99; 399 pages; 978-1-4500-8811-4
eBook; $9.99; 978-1-4500-8812-1

Members of the media who wish to review this book may request a complimentary paperback copy by contacting the publisher at (888) 795-4274 x. 7879. To purchase copies of the book for resale, please fax Xlibris at (610) 915-0294 or call (888) 795-4274 x. 7879.

For more information on self-publishing or marketing with Xlibris, visit To receive a free publishing guide, please call (888) 795-4274.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Marketing Services
Xlibris Corp.
888-795-4274 7879
Email >
Visit website